Nikita Koshelev ends women's winning streak at 2015 Russian Open



    Russian defeats Sweden's Joline Persson Planefors in the title match



    2015RussianOpenNikitaKoshelev.jpg2015RussianOpenJolinePerssonPlanefors.jpgAfter two years of female winners, Nikita Koshelev (pictured left with his trophies) of Russia defeated Joline Persson Planefors (right) of Sweden in two-games, total pins format, 473-359, to win the 2015 Russian Open Sunday at bowling center Russian Field in Saint-Petersburg, Russia.

    Koshelev, who became the first male winner since Marshall Kent's victory in 2012, received 1.500 Euro for the feat. Persson Planefors took home 1.300 for second place.

    The photo above shows the top 3 and the extra prize winners. L-R Igor Gorodnichy ("will to win"), Joline Persson Planefors (2nd), Maria Bulanova (women's high game, 280), Nikita Koshelev (champion and men's high game, 300), Alexey Parshukov (3rd) and Anton Sharov ("will to win").

    Koshelev earned the No. 1 seed for the eight-player single-elimination finals by averaging 260.75 for four games in Round Two including the tournament's lone 300 game. Persson Planefors was the lone woman to make the make the finals in third place with an average of 217 scratch. She received eight pins handicap each game.

    2015RussianOpenMariaBulanova.jpg2013 Russian Open winner Maria Bulanova (left) missed the cut to the top 8 by 26 pins to finish in 9th place. Defending champion Nadezhda Korablinova failed to advance from qualifying finishing in 44th place.

    In the opening round, Koshelev topped fellow Russian Maxim Okorokov, 428-385, while Persson Planefors wouldn't have needed any handicap to eliminate Alexey Drozhbin, Russia, 446-375.

    Koshelev used games of 221 and 248 to oust compatriot Alexey Parshukov, 469-425, in the semifinals. In the other match, Persson Planefors booked her spot in the finale with a 467-376 victory over Alexey Vasilenko of Russia.

    2015RussianOpenAlexeyParshukov.jpgParshukov (right) flew past Vasilenko in the roll-off for third and fourth place, 522-362, including a near-perfect second game (299). Parshukov received 1.100 Euro for third place, while Vasilenko pocketed 1.000 Euro for fourth place.

    The title match was a one-sided affair as Koshelev (236 and 237) continued to roll high games while Persson Planefors struggled (180 and 179, including handicap).

    2015EBT13RussianOpenLogo.jpg The 2015 Russian Open was held at 52-lane Russkoe Pole "Russian Field" bowling center in St. Petersburg, Russia from Sept. 11 to 13. The tournament, which drew 79 players, 68 men and 11 women, from eight countries, was originally scheduled as a "Satellite" tournament on the 2015 European Bowling Tour.

    After reducing the prize fund by 15.000 Euro, the European Tenpin Bowling Federation has withdrawn the European Bowling Tour status for the Russian Open just three days prior to the scheduled start date.

    The 2015 edition offered total prize fund of 10.000 Euro with 1.500 Euro going to the winner, 1.300 to the runner-up and 1.100 and 1.000 Euro for the third and fourth place finishers respectively. Final cash spot was 28th place worth 100 Euro.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) ran on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 11 & 12, and concluded with the Desperado Squad. Women received 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire event (maximum score was 300).

    Total 24 players advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 13 including the top 20 players from the qualifying standings and the top 4 players from the Desperado Squad. The top 4 qualifiers earned a first-round bye.

    The first two rounds consisted of four games from scratch, which cut the field to 16 and then 8 players who determined the champion in three match-play rounds in two-games, total pins format. In each round the highest seeded player bowled the lowest seeded player, the second-highest seeded player bowled the second-lowest seeded player, etc.

    The winners of the semifinal matches bowled for the title and the 1.500 top prize, while the losers met in a roll-off for third and fourth place.

    Photos courtesy of Max Bulanov.


    Related Articles

    Nadejda Korablinova becomes the second consecutive woman to win the Russian Open
    Maria Bulanova defeats Mykhaylo Kalika to win RedExpress Russian Open
    Team USA's Marshall Kent wins his first career EBT title in Russian Open
    Mikhail Kalika comes back from a 69-pin deficit to win Russian Open


    2015 Russian Open - Final Standings (cashers only)

    Top 24 with position, country and prize money

    1. Nikita Koshelev, Russia, 1.500 Euro
    2. Joline Persson Planefors, Sweden, 1.300 Euro
    3. Alexey Parshukov, Russia, 1.100 Euro
    4. Alexey Vasilenko, Russia, 1.000 Euro
    5. Yan Korshak, Russia, 800 Euro
    6. Alexey Drozhbin, Russia, 600 Euro
    7. Evgeni Karmazin, Ukraine, 500 Euro
    8. Maxim Okorokov, Russia, 400 Euro
    9. Maria Bulanova, Russia, 250 Euro
    10. Ivan Semenov, Russia, 250 Euro
    11. Andrey Suslov, Russia, 250 Euro
    12. Roman Starchenkov, Russia, 250 Euro
    13. Dmitri Lapshinski, Russia, 250 Euro
    14. Olga Tabachkova, Russia, 250 Euro
    15. Sergey Isaev, Russia, 250 Euro
    16. Bahtier Dalabaev, Uzbekistan, 250 Euro
    17. Alexander Medveditskov, Russia, 100 Euro
    18. Maria Koshel, Russia, 100 Euro
    19. Oleg Pliev, Russia, 100 Euro
    20. Linas Sasnauskas, Lithuania, 100 Euro
    21. Sergey Rogov, Russia, 100 Euro
    22. Batraz Dzagoev, Russia, 100 Euro
    23. Kudrat Hiliamov, Uzbekistan, 100 Euro
    24. Alexander Pashkovski, Russia, 100 Euro


    2015 Russian Open - Single-elimination Finals

    All matches are two-games, total pins format.



    2015 Russian Open - Final Round Two

    Top 8 advance to the single-elimination finals. Places 9-16 eliminated, earn 250 Euro.


    2015 Russian Open - Final Round One

    Top 12 advance to the second round. Places 13-20 eliminated, finish 17th to 24th, earn 100 Euro.


    2015 Russian Open - Standings after Qualifying

    Top 20 qualifiers plus the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 21-24) advance to the finals. Top 4 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.