Kassel, Düsseldorf become German Bundesliga champions



    2015-16 Bundesliga season concludes with the sixth stop in Ludwigshafen



    Finale Kassel and Radschläger Düsseldorf (pictured above) have been crowned men's and women's team champions as the German Bundesliga came to an end Sunday, Feb. 21 after the sixth weekend stop at Felix Bowling in Ludwigshafen.

    Led by 2012 European Bowling Tour point ranking leader and 2014 European Champions Cup winner Birgit Pöppler the women from Düsseldorf led from wire-to-wire and finished the season with 129 point total, 12 points ahead of BSC Kraftwerk Berlin and 22 points ahead of defending champion BV 77 Frankfurt, who finished second and third with 117 and 107 points, respectively.

    It was the first title for the multiple Bundesliga champions from Düsseldorf since 2013. Pöppler (second from left) was the women's average leader with 213.52 and was followed by Berlin's Laura Beuthner with 210.83. Both German national team members bowled all 54 games this season.



    Spearheaded by England's Richard Teece and Germany's Pascal Winternheimer, the men's team from Kassel (pictured above) won its fifth consecutive championship with 132 point total, comfortable 28 points ahead of newcomer BC 99 Ingelheim (104) with regulars Mats Maggi (Belgium) und Marek Talpa (Czech Republic) and former champion TSV Chemie Premnitz (102) coached by German head coach Peter Lorenz.

    Winternheimer (far right), who finished second in the 2015 Chameleon Championship in his Professional Bowlers Association debut, led the men in average (based on 27 games minimum) with 217.21 for 47 games. Teece (third from right) was second with an average of 211.57 for 49 games.

    The German Bowling Bundesliga, both men (five-player teams) and women (four-player teams), features 10 teams who bowl nine head-to-head matches on each of the six weekend stops.

    Two points will be awarded for each match won (maximum 18 points) and 10 points will be awarded for the highest nine-game series of each stop, 9 points for the second-highest series, and so on (maximum 28 points per weekend).

    The teams with the highest point total after the sixth stop becomes German Bundesliga champion. The 9th and 10th place finishers will be relegated.

    Men's Results
    Women's Results