Teams named for Weber Cup XVII





    With team Europe having won the last two Weber Cups, including a crushing 17-8 victory last year in Barnsley, there are changes afoot as the two sides are named for this year's Europe vs. USA showdown which takes place at Eventcity in Manchester from 5th to 7th August.

    Europe is once again captained by Dominic Barrett who is making his ninth appearance in a European shirt. Also, back is Stuart Williams for appearance number six and so is Martin Larssen who is yet to taste defeat in the Weber Cup in his previous four outings.

    Making his debut is two-handed Swedish lefty Jesper Svensson, the 21-year-old winner of four PBA titles and the 2015 European point ranking leader.

    The Americans, looking for a much needed win, are this year captained by PBA legend Parker Bohn III, a 35-time PBA champion who made his debut in 2015. He is joined by Wes Malott, who impressed in his previous two outings despite being on the losing side.

    There are two new boys in the side and they are Marshall Kent and Kyle Troup. Kent is a 23-year-old from Yakima, Washington and 2014 PBA Rookie of the Year. Troup at 24, is one of the most colourful bowlers competing in the USA. Both players posses one PBA title each.

    WeberCupLogoWhite_small.jpg The Weber Cup is the tenpin bowling version of golf's Ryder Cup as two four-man teams from Europe and the USA compete over three days in a series of singles, doubles and baker-format matches.

    The Weber Cup will be staged over five sessions – 6.30pm Friday 5th and 12.30pm and 6.00pm on Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th. The tournament will be produced by Matchroom Sports and broadcast live on Sky Sports as well as other channels around the world.


    XVII Weber Cup 2016 - The Teams

    Dominic Barrett (England) Captain – 8 appearances, 5 wins
    Stuart Williams (England) – 5 appearances, 4 wins
    Martin Larsen (Sweden) – 4 appearances, 4 wins
    Jesper Svensson (Sweden) – debut

    Parker Bohn III (New Jersey) Captain – 1 appearance, 0 wins
    Wes Malott (Texas) – 2 appearances, 0 wins
    Marshall Kent (South Carolina) – debut
    Kyle Troup (Washington) – debut