Six-member Indian tenpin bowling team named



    Republished courtesy of The Hindu - Chennai, India (Aug. 19, 2008)

    2008MWCIndia.jpg A six-member Indian team to take part in the World Men’s Tenpin Bowling Championships to be held in Bangkok from August 21 to 31 was announced here on Monday, at an Executive Committee Meeting of the Tenpin Bowling Federation (India).

    Among the six selected are Tamil Nadu’s Rahul Solanki and P. Rajmohan.

    The World Championships, the first event in a packed calendar for the Indian bowlers, will be followed by the National Tenpin Bowling Team Championships in Chennai from October 13 to 19, the AMF World Cup in Mexico from November 7 to 15, the Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championships in Belfast from November 24 to 30, and the Asian Inter-City Championships in Macau from November 28 to December 6.

    The Indian team for World men’s tenpin bowling championships in Bangkok:

    Vijay Punjabi (Karnataka), Rahul Solanki (Tamil Nadu), Krishna Dasari Vijay (Andhra Pradesh), Anthony Rajkumar (Karnataka), P. Rajmohan (Tamil Nadu), Dilbir Singh (Bengal). Manager: T.S. Nandakumar (TN); Coach: Gerald Samuel (Malaysia); Technical Observer and Team Co-ordinator: R. Kannan (Karnataka).

    TBF(I) Executive Committee members: Vice-President: Vijay Kalantri (President, Maharashtra Tenpin Bowling Association); Secretary General: R. Kannan (Secretary, Karnataka State TBA); Joint Secretary: A. Sreenivasa Rao (President, Puducherry TBA); Consultant: T.K. Balu (Delhi). — Sports Reporter.