47 countries to participate in inaugural WTBA World Singles Championships



    Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus (Sept. 18-26, 2012)

    2012WSCLogo.jpg 47 countries and regions are expected to compete at the inaugural World Tenpin Bowling Association World Singles Championships which will get underway Wednesday, Sept. 19 with the official practice and the opening ceremonies at Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus.

    The countries and regions, who have announced to participate, are Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Catalonia, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine, UAE, United States, Venezuela, and the host country Cyprus.

    The bowling center's 24 lanes are divided into two floors of 12 lanes each. Men and women will bowl on separate floors. Maximum two men and two women from each country are eligible to compete in the six-day event. Each player must have reached the age of 15 years on January 1, 2012.

    All games will be played on one lane condition selected by the WWC technical delegate, Pini Hershkoviz of Israel, from a bank of WTBA oil patterns.

    After four days of qualifying from Thursday, Sept. 20 to Sunday, Sept. 23, featuring two-sic-game blocks, the top 24 will advance to single-elimination match-play bracket to bowl for the title in best-of-five game matches Monday and Tuesday, Sept. 24-25. The top eight qualifiers receive one bye.

    The field will be cut to 16, 8, 4 and then two players who will determine the champion in the gold medal match. The semifinal losers will share the bronze medal.

    To view the live streaming starting Thursday, Sept. 20 with the first qualifying squad at 9 a.m. Cyprus time click here.

    Beginning in 2012, the World Singles Championships will be held every four years. The new event gives WTBA a world championship event every year, filling a void created under the previous calendar.

    The Combined World Championships will take place in 2013, the Men's World Championships will take place in 2014 and Women's World Championships in 2015. Each of those events are also held every four years.


    Related Articles

    Cyprus Bowling Federation releases Bulletin for the 2012 WTBA World Singles Championships


    2012 World Singles Championships - Schedule of Events