Dates set for 2015 Women's World Championships in Abu Dhabi, UAE


    World Bowling News

    Dates are also determined for 2015 World Senior Championships

    2014WorldBowlingLogo.jpgThe Executive Board of World Bowling Tenpin, the governing body of the sport of Tenpin Bowling, has decided the dates for 2015 Women's World Championships at the board meeting December 15-16 in Abu Dhabi following the 2014 Men's World Championships.

    The 5th WWC, which is contested every four years, will be held from December 4-13, at Khalifa International Bowling Center in Abu Dhabi, UAE. World Bowling Congress and Tenpin Bowling Congress will immediately follow the Championships on Dec. 14-15. World Bowling expects the WWC Bulletin to be released by March 1, 2015 at the latest.

    The original dates for the championships, November 17-28, would have clashed with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, the final race of the 2015 Formula 1 season, to be held November 27-29 at Yas Marina.

    The 2nd World Senior Championships for men and women which is held once every second year, takes place from August 23-30, 2015 at Sam's Town bowling center inside Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall in Las Vegas.

    All participants - maximum four men and four women per country - must be 50 years of age or above in the year of the championship. Bulletin 1 will be sent out to all member federations very soon.

    World Bowling Tenpin has also changed the preliminary dates for the 14th World Youth Championships, which are now scheduled for July 24 thru Aug 2, 2016 at Sun Valley Lanes in Lincoln, Nebraska, United States, two weeks later than originally scheduled (July 12-21). The dates are not yet confirmed as there are still several ongoing discussions/negotiations.

    The 2nd World Singles Championships will run from December 4-11 at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar. Maximum two men and two women from each country are eligible to compete in the event.

    The city of Wroclaw in Poland was awarded to host the World Games 2017. The 10th edition of the multi-sport event will take place from July 20-30.

    In an earlier press release on December 17, World Bowling Tenpin has announced the host cities for the World Championships 2017-2020 (dates to be determined):

    • 2017 World Championships (Men and Women) - Kuwait City, Kuwait
    • 2017 World Senior Championships - Munich, Germany
    • 2018 Men's World Championships - Hong Kong, China
    • 2018 World Youth Championships - Detroit, United States
    • 2019 Women's World Championships - Las Vegas, United States
    • 2019 World Senior Championships - Las Vegas, United States
    • 2020 World Singles Championships - Tokyo, Japan


    Related Articles

    World Bowling announces host cities for 2017-2020 World Championships
    Major cities bid for World Bowling Championship events