Gazmine Mason named Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow


    USBC Youth



    2016AlbertaCroweAwardGazmineMason.jpg Gazmine Mason of Cranston, Rhode Island, a junior at Nebraska, has been selected as the 2016 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow.

    The prestigious annual award recognizes star qualities in a female United States Bowling Congress Youth bowler, including accomplishments on the lanes, academic achievement and community service. The award winner, selected by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee, receives a $6,000 scholarship.

    Photos UNL.

    "It's a blessing to be named the 2016 recipient of the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award," Mason said. "It just goes to show that hard work and persistence does pay off! I'm very thankful the IBC Youth Committee considered me."

    Mason, 20, is completing her third season as a member of the Nebraska bowling team. She was named Academic All-Big Ten, and selected as an Arthur Ashe Junior Sports Scholar in 2015. She has made the Nebraska Scholar-Athlete Honor Roll four times, and was a National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA) Scholastic All-American in 2014.

    She has been on the Tom Osborne Citizenship Team for the last two years. To make the team, student-athletes have to complete at least six community service/leadership projects during the academic calendar year. Her projects have included working with the Boys & Girls Club and serving food at the People's City Mission.

    On the lanes, she helped the Cornhuskers capture their fifth NCAA Women's Bowling title in 2015 and earned third-team All-American honors from the NTCA. As a freshman in 2014, she helped the Cornhuskers to a runner-up finish for the national title. This season, she was the top individual performer at the Crusader Classic, was fourth in the Big Red Invitational and fifth at the Kat Klash.

    She is a two-time member of Junior Team USA. She competed at the 2015 Pan American Bowling Confederation Youth Championships in Panama, winning gold in Singles and silver in Trios, Team, Masters and All-Events.

    Mason began bowling at age 9, when she joined the Providence Senate Program run by USBC Silver coach Marty Jones, and would become a six-time Junior Gold Championships qualifier, finishing ninth in 2015. She also won the Rhode Island State Pepsi tournament in 2012 and earned travel league state champion honors in 2012 and 2013.

    A business major at Nebraska, Mason said she plans to work in accounting and also join the Professional Women's Bowling Association Tour after she graduates in 2017.

    The Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award is named in honor of the seven-term president of the Women's International Bowling Congress and USBC Hall of Fame member. Mason will be presented the award at the 2016 USBC Convention that will take place April 26-29 at The Orleans in Las Vegas.

    Click here to learn more about scholarship opportunities and national youth awards.


    Related Articles

    Jack Cook earns Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award


    Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award Winners

    1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
    1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
    1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
    1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
    1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
    1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
    1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
    1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
    1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
    1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
    1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
    1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
    1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
    1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
    1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
    1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
    1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
    1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
    1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
    1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
    1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
    1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
    1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
    1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
    1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
    1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
    1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
    1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
    1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
    1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
    1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
    1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
    1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
    1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
    1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
    1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Claire Shores, Mich.
    1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
    1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
    1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
    2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
    2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
    2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
    2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
    2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
    2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
    2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
    2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
    2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
    2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
    2010 Heather D'Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
    2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
    2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
    2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
    2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas
    2015 Emma Kuhn, Texas City, Texas
    2016 Gazmine Mason, Cranston, R.I.