Jack Cook earns Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award


    USBC Youth



    2016ChuckHallAwardJackCook.jpg Jack Cook of Denville, New Jersey, a senior at Morris Knolls High School, has been selected as the 2016 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award winner. The winner receives a $6,000 scholarship.

    The annual award recognizes star qualities, including distinguished bowling performance, academic achievement and civic involvement, in a male United States Bowling Congress Youth member who competes in bowling and currently is in high school or college.

    The recipient of the award, named in honor of the former Young American Bowling Alliance Executive Director, is determined by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee

    "Receiving this award is simply validation that my hard work inside and outside the bowling alley was, and is, well worth the effort," Cook said.

    "It makes me proud knowing that I have been chosen for such a prestigious award out of all those who applied. It demonstrates to me that my bowling skills are high enough to compete in collegiate bowling competitions and pursue a professional bowling career in the future, if I desire to do so."

    Cook is a member of the National Honor Society, Science Honor Society, Mathematics Honor Society and World Language Honor Society. He has taken several Advanced Placement courses, earning the AP Scholar with Distinction Award in 2015. He took part in the Harvard University Summer School, taking classes in Multivariable Calculus and Linear Algebra.

    His volunteer work includes teaching seniors at the Franciscan Oaks Senior Living Community how to use computers and electronic devices, teaching English to Spanish-speaking adults, and working with the Hope House Catholic Charities Agency. He has been a cellist for the Lakeland Youth Symphony since 2010, earning first chair in 2015.

    Cook said a bowling birthday party he attended when he was 8 spurred his interest in the sport. Shortly after, his grandmother gave him a gift certificate for a bowling lesson and the pro who taught him suggested Cook join a league.

    "We came in first place that year and every other year that we bowled in the father/son league," Cook said. "I continued to bowl, and even now, the more I bowl, the more I love the sport. It is my passion. Whether I am practicing or competing, I have a lot of fun and am happiest when I am in or close to a bowling alley."

    On the lanes, Cook won the doubles title at the Bowling.com Youth Open Championships in 2014, has 11 career scratch titles on the Junior Bowler's Tour New Jersey Conference, and finished 15th in a Professional Bowlers Association Eastern Regional event.

    He is a four-time New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association first team all-conference member and finished third in the NJSIAA boys state individual tournament.

    Cook will attend Cornell University in the fall, pursing a degree in Human Behavioral Neuroscience with minors in mathematics and chemistry. He further plans to attend medical school to become a neurosurgeon.

    Cook will be presented the Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award at the 2016 USBC Convention, set for April 26-29 in Las Vegas.

    Click here to learn more about youth scholarships and youth leader awards.


    Related Articles

    Gazmine Mason named Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow


    Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award Winners

    1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
    1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
    1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
    1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
    1984 Robert Beck, Houston
    1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
    1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
    1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
    1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
    1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
    1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
    1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
    1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
    1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
    1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
    1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
    1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
    1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
    1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
    1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
    2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
    2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
    2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
    2003 Marc D'Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
    2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
    2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
    2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
    2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
    2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
    2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
    2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
    2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
    2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.
    2013 Joey Kopera, Orland Park, Ill.
    2014 Derick Holmes, Wichita, Kan.
    2015 Anthony Sidari, Hazleton, Pa.
    2016 Jack Cook, Denville, N.J.