21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships gets underway in Jakarta



    Artha Gading Bowling Center in Jakarta, Indonesia (Nov. 17-25, 2007)

    2007AICOpening.jpg More than 100 bowlers representing 19 cities from Chinese Taipei, Guam, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Mariana Islands, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, and the host country of Indonesia will participate in the 21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships, which were declared open on Monday evening at Artha Gading Bowling Center in Jakarta.

    2007AICHarwanto_Chu.jpg "This international championship is necessary to promote the sport in respective cities .... We also want more competitive tournaments to improve the skills of our athletes," the head of Jakarta's youth and sports agency, Taufik Yudi Mulyanto, told The Jakarta Post during the opening ceremony for the tournament.

    Other speakers were Gordon Chu (right), the president of the Asian Intercity Bowling Council and Oki Herwanto (left), the chairman of the organizing committee. This is the fourth time after 1986, 1995 and 1997 that Jakarta hosts the Asian Intercity Bowling Championships.

    2007AICJakarta.jpg 8 women teams and 18 men teams will bowl for the gold, silver and bronze medals in Singles, Doubles, 4-player Team event, All Events and Masters from Nov. 20 through to the Masters finals on Saturday, Nov. 24.

    2007AICParanaque.jpg Among the favorites is, despite the absence of Indonesia's No. 1 male and female bowlers, Ryan Lalisang and Putty Armein, the team of the host city, Jakarta (pictured left), the team from Singapore and the team from Paranaque, Philippines, featuring Purvis Granger, the two-time ABF Tour Tournament of Champions winner (on the right picture, far left).

    Pictures courtesy of Yap Kok Wee.

    Competition schedule at a glance

    Tuesday, November 20: Singles (6 Games) - Women and Men
    Wednesday, November 21: Doubles (6 Games) - Men and Women
    Thursday, November 22: Team (2 Blocks of 3 Games) - Men and Women
    Friday, November 23: Masters Finals (1st Block of 8 games) Men and Women
    Saturday, November 24: Masters Finals (2nd Block of 8 games) Women and Men