Korean bowlers dominate in Men's Singles at 22nd Asian Intercity Tenpin Bowling Championships


    2008 AIBC

    Macau Bowling Center in Macau, China (Nov. 28 - Dec. 6, 2008)

    2008AIBCKongByongHee.jpg Korean bowlers took the first five places in Men's Singles, the opening event of the 22nd Asian Intercity Tenpin Bowling Championship currently underway at Macau Bowling Center in Macau, China.

    Kong Byoung Hee (pictured) won the first gold medal for the city of Uiwang in the championships. Byoung Hee had six games between 205 and 246 to win the title with 1364 pinfall total and an average of 227.33.

    Lee Dong Hee, Pohang, had 1324 including a 717 series in games 4-6 to earn the silver medal. Bronze went Lee Tae Ju from Daegu with 1302.

    Choi Moung Gu (Pohang) and Kim Young Pyo (Daegu) finished mere one and six pins off the medals in fourth and fifth place with 1301 and 1295.

    Eddie Lui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, was the best non-Korean bowler in the 80-player field from 21 cities with 1294. Justin Lim, Singapore finished his series with the field-best 735 series including the high game of the day (279), but had to settle for 7th place due to his 545 for the first three games.

    The 22nd Asian Intercity Tenpin Bowling Championships will run until Friday, Dec. 5, at Macau Bowling Center, a 24-laner located in the Cotai International Sports Complex in Macau, China.

    46 women and 80 men representing 21 cities will compete in Singles, Doubles, Team, All-Events and Masters.

    Cities that have registered with four men and four women will also compete for the City Champion Cup for men and for women and the Satoh Cup, the Overall City Champion Cup, named after the late founding member, Mr. Shinto Satoh.

    The 21 participating cities are Taipei City from Chinese Taipei, Tamuning from Guam, Hong Kong City, Happy Valley, Kowloon and Victoria from Hong Kong, Bangalore, Chennai and Delhi from India, Daegu, Pohang and Uiwang from Korea, Kuantan and Shah Alam from Malaysia, Macau City, Coloane and Taipa from Macau, Saipan, Paranaque City and Pasay City from the Philippines and Singapore.

    Women's Singles

    2008 AIBC - Men's Singles