USBC Women's Championships wins 2010 Sportstravel Award


    USBC News

    Named the "Best Amateur Sports Event Series or Circuit"

    USBCLogow.jpg2010USBCWCLogo.jpgThe 2010 United States Bowling Congress Women's Championships featured a fresh look and a brand new format, and the event earned national recognition with a 2010 SportsTravel Award from SportsTravel magazine.

    The 2010 USBC Women's Championships was named the Best Amateur Sports Event Series or Circuit, and USBC Executive Director Stu Upson was on hand to accept the award at the TEAMS (Travel, Events And Management in Sports) '10 Conference & Expo in Charlotte, N.C., on Thursday.

    On the way to the honor, the Women's Championships beat out the 2009 Little League World Series, 2010 American Strongman Platinum Series, 2010 Great Urban Race Series, 2010 Major League Dragon Boat Series and 2010 METAL2METAL Demolition Derby Series.

    "It's an honor to be included among the best sporting events in the world and mentioned in the same breath as the Super Bowl, World Series and Winter Olympics," Upson said. "The Women's Championships is based on more than 90 years of tradition but recently underwent some changes. This recognition shows us that we're headed in the right direction, and we're excited about the future of the tournament."

    This year's ballot included nominees in amateur, collegiate and professional categories, and awards were presented for best single-sport event, best multi-sport or multi-discipline event and best sports event series or circuit in each category.

    In addition, an overall Sports Event of the Year was selected from the winners of each category with the top prize going to the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, British Columbia.

    To be eligible, nominated events had to occur between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2010.

    The 2010 Women's Championships marked the first time the tournament was held in a convention-center setting, and more than 30,000 bowlers made their way to the El Paso Convention and Performing Arts Center in El Paso, Texas, during its 100-day run from March 27 until July 4.

    The tournament, which has been held in 56 cities since its inception in 1916, is about to make its third visit to Syracuse, N.Y., and 10th trip to the Empire State overall. Syracuse hosted the event in 1940 and 1954, featuring 1,185 and 4,538 teams, respectively. The 2011 tournament kicks off its 88-day run on April 7, and more than 6,000 teams are expected to compete.

    SportsTravel magazine readers were asked to vote either online or by fax to determine the winners. This is the fifth year the magazine has handed out the awards.

    "We are pleased to recognize these superior sporting events," said Timothy Schneider, publisher of SportsTravelmagazine, which organizes the annual TEAMS Conference and Expo. "Each of the winners is a prime example of achieving excellence in organization and management for both competitors and spectators."

    This year's winners include:
    • Sports Event of the Year - 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, British Columbia
    • Best New Sports Event - 2010 Warrior Games in Colorado Springs, Colo.
    • Best Professional Sports Event Series or Circuit - 2009 Major League Baseball World Series in New York and Philadelphia
    • Best Professional Multi-Sport or Multi-Discipline Event - 2009 Summer X Games 15 in Los Angeles
    • Best Professional Single-Sport Event - NFL Super Bowl XLIV in South Florida
    • Best Collegiate Sports Event Series or Circuit - 2010 NCAA College World Series in Omaha, Neb.
    • Best Collegiate Multi-Sport or Multi-Discipline Event - 2010 NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championships in Johnson City, Tenn.
    • Best Collegiate Single-Sport Event - 2010 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship Game in Indianapolis
    • Best Amateur Sports Event Series or Circuit - 2010 U.S. Bowling Congress Women's Championships in El Paso, Texas Best Amateur Multi-Sport or Multi-Discipline Event - 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, British Columbia
    • Best Amateur Single-Sport Event - 2009 Cal Ripken World Series World Championship Game in Aberdeen, Md.