Marco Reviglio, Nadine Geißler set the pace in European Champions Cup in Turkey


    2010 ECC

    Average over 221 to take the lead after the first block on short oil

    2010ECCLogo.jpg2010ECCMarcoReviglio.jpgThe 33rd European Champions Cup got underway on Wednesday at 24-lane Rollhouse Bowling Center in Ankara, Turkey when 74 players - 39 men and 35 women - from 38 of the 49 members of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF) bowled eight games on the 35 ft. short lane conditioning pattern.

    2007 ECC champion Marco Reviglio, Italy and Nadine Geißler, Germany averaged over 221 to take the early lead in the men's and women's division.

    Reviglio (pictured right) had seven games between 203 and 244 and a low game of 196 to lead the men's field with 1775 pinfall total and an average of 221.88, Reviglio was just one pin ahead of Petri Mannonen, Finland,, who was second with 1774 including a high game of 277.

    Arturs Levikins, Latvia, was another nine pins behind in third place with 1765 and was followed by Oleksandr Kalika, Ukraine in fourth place with 1734 and Mike Quarry, England in fifth with 1724.

    Ioannis Stathatos, Greece had a slow start into the tournament and finished the day in 25th place with 1488 (186 average), already 187 pins off the pace for the top 8.

    2010ECCNadineGeissler2.jpg2010BWCPatcharinTorgersen2.jpgOn the women's side, Geißler (pictured left) outaveraged her nearest competitor, defending champion Kirsten Penny, England by more than 11 pins. The German had six games between 212 and 247 and two games in the 180s for a 1772 pinfall total and an 89-pin lead over Penny, who was second with 1683.

    Krista Pöllänen, Finland was the third and last woman, who averaged over 200. The 2009 World Games champion knocked down 1658 pins.

    Laura Rhoney, Scotland was 85 pins behind Pöllänen in fourth place with 1573 and Patcharin Torgersen (right), Norway was fifth with 1665.

    The ECC features the national champions or ranking leaders - one man and one woman per country - of the European Tenpin Bowling Federation member federations plus the defending champions, Kirsten Penny (England) and Ioannis Stathatos (Greece).

    All players will bowl three 8-game blocks (a total of 24 games) preliminaries over three days: Block 1 on short oil, Block 2 on long oil and Block 3 on dual lane condition (left lane long, right lane short).

    The top 8 players after the preliminaries will qualify for the single-elimination final in best-of-three games format. In each round the highest seeded player will bowl the lowest seeded player, the 2nd highest vs. the 2nd lowest, etc. based on the standings after the preliminaries. The higher qualifier will have the advantage of selecting the lane conditioning pattern for the first game.


    Related Articles

    Organizers of the European Champions Cup 2010 release the Bulletin


    Men's Division - Standings after the first block on short oil


    Women's Division - Standings after the first block on short oil