St. Ambrose freshman Kyle Anderson named Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow


    USBC News

    2012CHSoTKyleAnderson.jpgKyle Anderson of Lockport, Ill., has been selected as the 2012 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award recipient. Presented by the United States Bowling Congress, the award annually recognizes star qualities in a male high school senior or college student who competes in the sport of bowling.

    “It means so much to me to be selected for this award,” Anderson said. “I am honored to be selected for a national award honoring Chuck Hall and one that has been given to others who I have admired as bowlers. It actually humbles me to think about it.”

    A freshman at St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa, Anderson is studying accounting, finance and business. He also is taking sports management courses, and someday would like to have a career in the bowling industry.

    Anderson started bowling at age 5, and when he was 6, he said his league director gave him a medal for Bowler of the Year. From that point, he was hooked on the sport.

    A May 2011 graduate from Lockport High School, Anderson had a weighted grade-point average of 4.13 on a 4.0 scale. He was a three-time winner of the Porter Pride Award, given to a Lockport student for athletic leadership and academic achievement.

    On the lanes, he was the first individual to win back-to-back high school bowling titles in Illinois, winning the state title in 2010 and 2011. A five-time competitor at the USBC Junior Gold Championships, he finished eighth at the 2011 event in Las Vegas. He placed 17th at the 2011 North Pointe High School Singles Championships.

    Anderson was selected to the Dexter/USBC High School All-American Team for 2010-11. He has been active in community service projects and helps with the care of his 87-year-old neighbor, a widow who lives alone and cannot drive, by bringing food, newspapers and books and walking her dog.

    The Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award is named for the former Young American Bowling Alliance executive director, who spent much of his life helping young people through his association with junior bowling.

    For being selected for the award, Anderson will receive a $6,000 scholarship that will be formally presented at the 2012 USBC Convention to be held in April in Arlington.


    Chuck Hall Star Of Tomorrow Award winners

    1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
    1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
    1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
    1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
    1984 Robert Beck, Houston
    1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
    1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
    1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
    1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
    1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
    1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
    1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
    1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
    1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
    1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
    1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
    1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
    1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
    1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
    1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
    2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
    2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
    2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
    2003 Marc D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
    2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
    2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
    2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
    2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
    2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
    2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
    2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
    2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
    2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.