Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA News » 2018 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship applications now being accepted

2018 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship applications now being accepted


The Professional Bowlers Association is now accepting applications for the 2018 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Award which recognizes exemplary qualities in male or female college students who excel in academics as well as in the sport of bowling.

The winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship. To be eligible candidates must be amateur bowlers who are currently in college (preceding the application date) and maintaining at least a 2.5/4.0 GPA or equivalent. Applications must be postmarked by June 15.

Featured photo: ABC Sports commentator Chris Schenkel (center), celebrating his 30th year on the bowling beat, interviews two top PBA bowlers, Billy Welu (left) and Don Carter (right), during the inaugural season of “ABC’S PROFESSIONAL BOWLERS TOUR,” one of network television’s longest-running series.

The scholarship was established in 1982 in memory of the PBA Hall of Famer who served as television analyst alongside legendary ABC broadcaster and PBA Hall of Famer Chris Schenkel on the “Pro Bowlers Tour” series prior to his death in 1974. Over the years, 33 outstanding student athletes have been selected as Welu Scholarship recipients.

The application is in two parts and can be retrieved by downloading both files by clicking here. Nominations can be sent to [email protected] or through the U.S. mail at PBA Billy Welu Scholarship, 55 E. Jackson Blvd., Suite 401, Chicago, IL 60604.

History of PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Winners

2017 – Kristie Lopez (Wichita State)
2016 – Sydney Brummett (Wichita State)
2015 – Ramon Hilferink (Webber International)
2014 – Melanie Hannon (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2013 – Katie Thornton (Webber International)
2012 – Danielle McEwan (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2011 – Kristina Frahm (Maryland Eastern Shore)
2010 – Kim Yioulos (Pikeville)
2009 – Elizabeth Seibel (Penn State)
2008 – Heather D’Errico (Robert Morris-Illinois)
2007 – Ricki Williams (Wichita State)
2006 – Jerrod Reece (Creighton University)
2005 – Mandy Pezzano (University of Pennsylvania)
2004 – Holly Pusok (University of Houston)
2003 – Robby Spigner (Indiana University)
2002 – N/A
2001 – Jennie Snoddy (Notre Dame College of Ohio)
2000 – Jackie Edwards (Cal State-Fresno)
1999 – Steven Svetlik (University of Illinois-Chicago)
1998 – Nicholas Hoagland (Indiana University)
1997 – Preston Brunswig (Wichita State)
1996 – Brenda Dosher (University of Southern Indiana)
1995 – Michael Lamont (University of Florida)
1994 – Joe Ciccone (Erie Community College)
1993 – N/A
1992 – Stephen Dale Jr. (Northeastern University)
1991 – Kari Murph (Morehead State)
1990 – Kimberly Berke (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
1989 – Ronni Shehorn (San Jose State)
1988 – Julie Powell (University of Michigan)
1987 – N/A
1986 – Paul Kaib (University of Florida)
1985 – Curt Pezzano (University of Miami (Fla.))
1984 – Michelle Mullen (University of Illinois)
1983 – Jeri Edwards (Penn State)
1982 – Patricia Bowie (Arizona State)

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.