Shigeo Saito, Shayna Ng lead top 24 men and women into the Semifinals in Japan


    2013 World Bowling Tour #4

    Guam's Jay Leon Guerrero defeats Fumihiro Yoshida, Japan, in roloff for 24th place in the men's division; Friday's semifinals will trim the field to the top 5 men and women, who advance to the TV Eliminator Finals Saturday at Inazawa Futsal Stadium

    2013IBCShigeoSaito.jpg2013IBCShaynaNg2.jpgShigeo Saito (pictured left) of Japan and Shayna Ng (rigth) of Singapore finished Round One of the International Bowling Championships 2013 supported by DHC atop the men's and women's leaderboard en route to lead the top 24 women and the top 24 men into the semifinals Friday afternoon at Inazawa Grandbowl in Inazawa City, Japan.

    Saito, a former Japan national team member who now bowls on the JPBA Tour, used a pair of 277 games in the third and last three game block of Round One for a 747 series to overtake the lead in the men's division with 2194 and an average of 243.78 for nine games.

    2013IBCTommyJones.jpg2013IBCRafiqIsmail.jpgDefending champion Tommy Jones (left), United States, who led the tournament heading into the last game, finished second with 2166 behind a 700 series in block three. Malaysian youngster Rafiq Ismail (right) managed a 727 series to move from ninth to third place with 2136.

    Making an impressive leapfrog was Park Jong-Woo Korea, who rolled the first 800 series of the men's division in both international qualifying and Round One. Park fired games of 238, 299 and 267 for 804, an average of 268, to jump from 27th to fourth place with 2127.

    2013IBCChrisBarnes.jpg2013IBCJayLeonGuerrero2.jpg14-time PBA champion Chris Barnes, United States, also had a 299 in the middle game to leap eleven places in fifth with 745 and 2108 overall.

    The next three places belonged to Japanese bowlers Shogo Wada (2107), Isao Yamamoto (2104) and Kengo Tagata (2104). PBA champion Ryan Ciminelli, United States, who led the 136-player field after the first two rounds, fell to ninth place with 2094 behind a 615 series.

    PBA Player of the Year Sean Rash, United States, posted games of 242, 218 and 289 to move from 25th to 10th with 2079. Fumihiro Yoshida of Japan and Guam's Jay Leon Guerrero tied for 24th place with 1988 or an average of 220.89. Guerrero (above right) won the tiebreaker, 225 to 209, to advance to the semifinals.

    The photo shows the top 24 men, who advance to the semifinals.



    Ng, who led the women's division since the first block, started the third block with her lowest game of 191 followed by the second-lowest 226 game before she closed out Round One with 237 for 654 series and 2162 nine-game total, an average of 240.33.

    2013IBCTannyaRoumimper2.jpg2013IBCJazreelTan.jpgLiz Johnson, United States, a former PWBA champion and two-time WTBA World Champion, used a 279 game for 708 series to narrow the gap to mere 12 pins with 2150 total.

    Tannya Roumimper (left) of Indonesia, who was 20th after the first block and 9th after the second, leaped another six spots behind the second-best 757 series in the third block and 2140 overall. PBA champion Kelly Kulick, United States, posted 728 to move from sixth to fourth place with 2123.

    Rounding out the top 5 was Jazreel Tan of Singapore. Tan, who bowls with Roumimper collegiately on the Wichita State Shockers team, used a 740 series including a 279 game to leap seven spots into fifth place with 2105.

    2013IBCDiandraAsbaty2.jpg2013IBCKristelOh.jpgShion Izumune was the best Japanese bowler in eighth place with 2020. Total seven Japanese women survived the first cut.

    Diandra Asbaty, United States, started the last three-game block in 51st place, 83 pins off the pace for the top 24. The former World and multiple American Zone champion fired games of 247, 245 and 268 for the 760, the highest series in the third block, en route to rocket into 12th place with 2003, 63 pins ahead of the cut.

    Defending champion Cherie Tan was one pin behind Asbaty in 13th place with 2002. Kristel Oh (right) of Singapore beat out former World Champion Jeon Eun-Hee of Korea for the 24th and last spot by three pins, 1940 to 1937.

    The photo shows the top 24 women, who advance to the semifinals.




    All 48 players will return to the lanes at 4.30 p.m. Japanese Standard Time (CET -8 or EST -14) to roll another two blocks of the three games in the Semifinals with the Round One total carried over.

    The top 5 men and the top 5 women based on the 15-game total advance to the TV eliminator finals. In case there is no local bowler among the top 5 in each division, the best local bowler will be seeded fifth.

    The finals will be contested on Saturday, Jan. 19, on temporary lanes installed at Inazawa Futsal Stadium, which is located next door to the bowling center. The show will be broadcasted by NHK BS1 on Saturday, Jan. 19, 2013 as a three-hour program.

    All five players bowl one game with the lowest two players eliminated. The remaining three players will bowl a second game with the lowest player eliminated. The two survivors will then bowl for the title and the 6.000.000 JPY first prize.

    The five finalists will have a chance for an even bigger payday as 10 million Yen will be awarded for EVERY 300 game bowled in the TV final eliminator rounds.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif Bowlingdigital will cover the International Bowling Championships 2013 supported by DHC live from Inazawa Grand Bowl in Inazawa City, Japan, including stories, results and photos commencing Tuesday, Jan. 15 with the international qualifying all the way through to the TV finals on Saturday, Jan. 19.

    Click here for more details:
    Main Event Information
    Main Event Rules & Regulations
    Main Event Schedule
    Prize Fund



    Related Articles

    Ciminelli, Ng continue to lead International Bowling Championships after second block
    Ryan Ciminelli, Shayna Ng set the pace after the first block of Round One in Japan
    Field set for main event at International Bowling Championships 2013 supported by DHC
    Song Young-Seok, Amanda Ng win International Qualifying at IBC in Japan
    Ng, Yang continue to lead International Qualifying after 6/8 squads
    Yang Tae-Seon, Amanda Ng take over lead in International Qualifying
    Malaysians Shalin Zulkifli, Alex Liew start international qualifying in Japan with 300 games
    DHC Tournament kicks off Tuesday with first two of eight qualifying squads
    Shota Kawazoe, Hiromi Matsunaga lead strong field of local bowlers at International Bowling Championships
    Tommy Jones, Cherie Tan spearhead star-studded field at International Bowling Championships
    Coming up soon - Live Coverage of the International Bowling Championships 2013 in Japan
    DHC tournament in Japan receives "Major" status on the 2013 World Bowling Tour
    International Bowling Championships in Japan is back on the 2013 World Bowling Tour schedule
    Tommy Jones, Cherie Tan triumph in International Bowling Championship 2012 supported by DHC
    Memory Lane - Re-published courtesy of International Bowling Industry



    Men's Division - Round One Results

    The top 24 advance to the Semifinals



    Women's Division - Round One Results

    The top 24 advance to the Semifinals