Home » Navigation » World » World Bowling Tour » Danielle McEwan wins her first WBT title in H.H. Emir Cup

Danielle McEwan wins her first WBT title in H.H. Emir Cup


2016HHEmirCupDanielleMcEwan3.jpg2016HHEmirCupYousifFalah3.jpgDanielle McEwan, United States, fired games of 258 and 266 scratch and added eight pins women’s handicap each game to fly past Yousif Falah of Bahrain, 540-416, to win the World Bowling Tour’s H.H. Emir Cup 2016 Wednesday afternoon at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar.

McEwan, who improved on a third-place finish last year, used a six-bagger from frame 5 to take a 42-pin lead after the first game. After she sandwiched a strike between two spares to open game two, the winner of the 2015 Women’s World Bowling Tour finals reeled off eight consecutive strikes to put the match away well before the final frame.

2016HHEmirCupDaphneTan3.jpg2016HHEmirCupMarshallKent2.jpgIn a close semi-final match, third-seeded McEwan doubled in the 10th frame of the second game to eliminate No. 2 seed, Daphne Tan of Singapore, 435-422. Falah, who took the last spot for the playoffs in the third eight-game round, stunned top-seeded Marshall Kent, who was looking for his second PBA title, 498-361.

McEwan received the 20,000 Dollar for winning her first World Bowling Tour title, Falah pocketed $12,000 for second place, while Kent and Tan got $6,000 apiece for third and fourth place, resp.

Though McEwan is a PBA member she does not get credit for a PBA title because she used the handicap pins.


The H.H. Emir Cup 2016 was the first tournament on the 2016 World Bowling Tour and an Asian Bowling Federation Tour ranking tournament, the opening event on the 2016 season.

The Emir Cup was held from February Feb. 25 through March 2, 2016 at the Qatar Bowling Center, a 32-laner in Doha, Qatar. Players competed for total prize money of US$102,000 with $20,000 going to the winner, $12,000 to the runner-up and $6,000 each to the third and fourth place finishers.

According to an agreement between World Bowling and the Professional Bowlers Association (PBA), the Emir Cup will award a PBA title in a WBT event, if won by a PBA member.

Qualifying ran over five days featuring three squads (A, B and C). Each squad bowled two eight-game blocks. Women received eight pins handicap each game, an equality handicap provided to women in many World Bowling Tour events.

Total 32 players including the top 25 players after 16 games plus the next three Qatari bowlers and the top four players from the Desperado Squad advanced to the finals on March 1 and 2. The top 4 qualifiers earned two byes while qualifiers 5-8 got a first-round bye.

The other 24 players bowled 8 games scratch with the top 12 advancing to the next round. Those 12 and qualifiers 5-8 rolled another eight-game block scratch to cut to the top 8 who joined the top four qualifiers in the third eight-game round from scratch.

The top four players advanced to the playoffs. The No. 1 seed met the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed took on the No. 3 seed over two games with the total pin fall to determine the winners, who bowled for the title and the $20,000 top prize in the two-game total pins championship match. The top 16 Asian finishers will be awarded Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) Tour ranking points.

2016WBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 World Bowling Tour currently consists of 8 tournaments, six in the Middle East and one each in Germany and Thailand. A ninth event and the only WBT “major” so far is planned for December 2016 during the PBA World Series of Bowling VIII in the USA.

Players earn ranking points based on how they finish in each event. “Majors” award double points. The current points system is based on a continuous two-year cycle. The top three men and top three women in the annual points list will compete in the season-ending World Bowling Tour Finals (tbd).

The next stop of the 2016 World Bowling Tour is the 14th Kingdom of Bahrain International Open, which will be held from March 4-9 at Ozone Entertainment Center in Sitra, Bahrain.

World Bowling provides governance to international bowling and is made up of 134 bowling international federations. For more information on the World Bowling Tour, click here.

Related Articles

It’s down to 12 in H.H. Emir Cup
Daphne Tan wins qualifying in H.H. Emir Cup
Daphne Tan holds commanding lead in H.H. Emir Cup
Daphne Tan shoots 300 to take the lead in H.H. Emir Cup 2016 after Squad A
Indonesia’s Tannya Roumimper becomes second woman to win the H.H. Emir Cup
2016 World Bowling Tour – Schedule, Champions, Men’s and Women’s Ranking Winners
2015 WBT Point Rankings – Men and Women

H.H. Emir Cup 2016 Finals

Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar (Feb. 25 – March 2, 2016)

Championship Round:
1. Danielle McEwan, United States, 975 (4 games), $20,000
2. Yousif Falah, Bahrain, 914 (4 games), $12,000
3. Marshall Kent, United States, 361 (2 games), $6,000
4. Daphne Tan, Singapore, 422 (2 games), $6,000

Playoff Results:
Semi-final Match 1: No. 4 Falah (254, 244) def. No. 1 Kent (179, 182), 498-361
Semi-final Match 2: No. 3 McEwan (223, 212) def. No. 2 Tan (178, 244), 435-422
Championship: McEwan (266, 274) def. Falah (224, 192), 540-416.
* Tan and McEwan received eight pins handicap per game.

H.H. Emir Cup 2015 – Cashers (places 5-32)

5. Robert Andersson, Sweden, $3,000
6. Jazreel Tan, Singapore, $3,000
7. Michael Mak, Hong Kong, $3,000
8. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, $3,000
9. Shayna Ng, Singapore, $2,400
10. Osku Palermaa, Finland, $2,400
11. Tommy Jones, United States, $2,400
12. Martin Larsen, Sweden, $2,400
13. Joey Yeo, Singapore, $2,100
14. Mostafa Almousawi, Kuwait, $2,100
15. Cameron Weier, United States, $2,100
16. Hazeem Almuraikhi, Qatar, $2,100
17. Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, $2,000
18. Jassim Almuraikhi, Qatar, $2,000
19. Bernice Lim, Singapore, $2,000
20. AJ Johnson, United States, $2,000
21. Yousef Aljaber, Qatar, $2,000
22. Ghanim Aboujassoum, Qatar, $1,600
23. Stuart Williams, England, $1,600
24. Rickle Kam, Hong Kong, $1,600
25. Mohammed Alsaud, Saudi Arabia, $1,600
26. Mohammed Al-Marzooqi, United Arab Emirates, $1,600
27. Mohammed Almerekhi, Qatar, $1,600
28. Anthony Simonsen, United States, $1,600
29. Jassem Alsaqer, Kuwait, $1,500
30. Khaled Aldebayyan, Kuwait, $1,500
31. Eric Tseng, Hong Kong, $1,400
32. Mansour Alawami, Qatar, $1,400

H.H. Emir Cup 2016 – Round 3 Results

Top 4 advance to the playoffs

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.