Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Five 300 games highlight Thursday’s qualifying in San Marino

Five 300 games highlight Thursday’s qualifying in San Marino


Finland’s two-handed player Osku Palermaa stole the spotlight on a high-scoring squad 14 as he used the fifth perfect game of the San Marino Open to lead the field of 182 players from 28 countries with 1491 and an average of 248.50 for six games.

The five-time PBA champion (right), who is tied with Dom Barrett of England for second place on the European Bowling Tour’s all-time title list with 13 titles (Paul Moor, England, leads with 17) had games of 236, 300, 243, 248, 226 and 238.

Pictured above from left to right: Robin Persson, Osku Palermaa, Daniel Fransson and Rodolfo Madriz.

Previous leader, reigning QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup champion Jenny Wegner slipped to second place with 1476, including 48 pins handicap. Wegner is the best of 19 women in the field and one of four above the cut line (35th place).

Two players each from the three squads on Thursday cracked the top 8, who will receive two byes at the end of the qualifying. The top 4 from the squads conducted on July 12-13, who will not finish in the top 35, will earn automatic spots in Sunday’s finals.

Mattias Wetterberg (right) of Sweden started squad 13 with 289, 258 and 268 (815) on his way to a 1472 total to propel him into third place. Vassilis Stefopoulos of Greece, who had a five games between 239 and 220 and a last game of 289, was just nine pins behind to take fourth place with 1463.

Peter Hellström of Sweden and Francois Lavoie of Canada led the opening squad 12 with 1460 and 1453, respectively, to finish the sixth qualifying day in fifth and sixth place.

Lavoie (right), PBA’s 2016 Rookie of the Year and the 2016 U.S. Open champion, became the first Canadian to win a title on the European Bowling Tour last Sunday when he defeated Markus Jansson of Sweden, 236-216, to win the V Brunswick Madrid Challenge.

Daniel Fransson of Sweden was second to Palermaa in squad 14 to leap into seventh place with 1450. Rounding out the top 8 was Francois Louw (left) of South Africa, who fell six spots with 1442.

Five 300 games highlighted the qualifying on Thursday and brought the number of perfect games in the 13th edition of the San Marino Open to seven. Jansson rolled the third perfecto (his compatriots Anton Ahlgren and Martin Paulsson had no. 1 and 2 on Wednesday) in squad 13 and finished with 1407 in 23rd place.

The other four came in squad 14, one each in the first four games. Robin Persson (left, with Pontus Andersson and Anton Ahlgren) of Sweden achieved perfection in game one, but is one pin off the pace for the top 35 in 36th place with 1359.

Palermaa became the first non-Swedish native to roll a 300 game in game two, and followed by Fransson, who was the fifth Swede to shoot 300. Finally Rodolfo Madriz posted the seventh perfecto in game four of his 1321 series, which is currently good for 63rd place.

Heading into the last two qualifying days Emanuel Jonsson of Sweden holds the 35th and last place to advance from the overall leaderboard with 1360 or an average of 226.67, which is already one pin higher than last year’s cut.

Qualifying continues Friday, July 14, with squads 15, 16 and 17 scheduled to start at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

The Storm San Marino Open is the 6th stop of the 2017 European Bowling Tour and the first out of two EBT “Gold” tournaments this season.

The 13th edition will be held July 8-16 at 18-lane Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 62.100 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday, July 8, through Saturday, July 15, with the last qualifying squad 20 scheduled for 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). The qualifying winner will receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad scheduled to start at 10 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The top three women based on the final standings will receive 500, 350 and 200 Euro bonuses, respectively.

Total 48 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 16, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 8-9, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 10-11, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 12-13, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in the second round. Those 24 bowl another four games from scratch to cut to the top 10, who will join the top eight in a six-game round before the cut to the top 4.

The four finalists will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same “low man out” format applies, with pinfall carrying over. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

The 2017 European Bowling Tour features 11 tournaments in 9 countries including two “Platinum”, two “Gold”, one “Silver”, three “Bronze” and three “Satellite” events, which offer total prize fund of roughly 560.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 8 men and top 8 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 11th EBT Masters February 12, 2018 in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Related Articles

Leaderboard shaken up at 13th Storm San Marino Open
Madrid champion Francois Lavoie cracks top 10 at San Marino Open
Ida Andersson adds her name to the leaderboard in San Marino
Andrea Mangiacotti moves to the top in Storm San Marino Open
Nicola Pongolini first leader in 13th Storm San Marino Open
2017 European Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions

13th Storm San Marino Open – Qualifying Standings after Squad 14/20

Top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 8-9, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 10-11, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 12-13, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.

300 games (7) – Anton Ahlgren, Martin Paulsson, Markus Jansson, Robin Persson, Osku Palermaa, Daniel Fransson, Rodolfo Madriz.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.