Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Markus Bergendorff takes over lead in Polish Open qualifying

Markus Bergendorff takes over lead in Polish Open qualifying


2016EBT11LauraBeuthner2.jpg2016EBT11FrancoisLouw2.jpgMarkus Bergendorff, a two-handed player from Denmark, averaged 234 for six games in squad 9 Thursday at at Sky Bowling in Wroclaw to overtake the lead in the qualifying of the Polish Open presented by Roto Grip.

Bergendorff rolled games of 225, 233, 243, 199, 269 and 235 for 1404 to overtake Laura Beuthner (pictured left) of Germany, who led since the first qualifying day, by just two pins. The current European Bowling Tour women’s point ranking leader slipped to second place with 1402, including eight pins handicap each game.

Francois Louw (above right) of South Africa (1363) and Irish two-hander Christopher Sloan (1357) also fell one spot to third and fourth place.

2016EBT11MikaelRoos.jpg2016EBT11RichardTeece.jpgSquad 8 leader Mikael Roos (left) of Sweden started his six-game effort with the tournament’s third 290 game (Bergendorff and Tomasz Olejniczak of Poland had the others) and rollercoastered his way to to 1340 total to move into ffith place in the overall standings.

The best Polish bowler, Lucy Charezińska, rounds out the top 10 with 1297 total. The top 10 at the end of the qualifying will earn two byes for Sunday’s finals, while qualifiers 11-20 will get a first-round bye.

Two-time European Bowling Tour champion Richard Teece (above right) of England led the last squad on Thursday (#10) with 1285, including six games between 233 and 186, to finish in 14th place after the fourth out of sixth qualifying days.

2016EBT11MartinPaulsson.jpg2016EBT11RomanHilferink.jpgBy virtue of leading the three squads on Thursday, Bergendorff, Roos and Teece as well as the runner-ups in these squads reecived a Storm Phaze bowling ball as a bonus, sponsored by Roto Grip.

Former world champion in Doubles, Martin Paulsson (left) of Sweden, was just 15 pins behind Teece in squad 10 to leap into 18th place with 1270. 19th place Ramon Hilferink (right), Netherlands, was second in squad 9 with 1267, while his compatriot Patrick Meka (below right), who was second in squad 8 with 1250, finished the day in 22nd place.

With six more squads to come, Nadja Rifinius of Germany holds the 30th and last place to advance to the finals with 1204 or an average of 200.67, including handicap.

2016EBT11PatrickMeka.jpgQualifying continues on Friday, July 29, with Squads 11,12 and 13 scheduled to start at 11 a.m., 3 and 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2015EBT09PolishOpenLogo.jpgThe Roto Grip Polish Open is the 11th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the last of four EBT “Silver” tournaments this season. The inaugural Polish Open last year was conducted as “satellite” tournament. The second edition will be held from July 25-31 at 24-lane Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland, host of the 2012 and 2014 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cups.

The prize fund increased by 10.200 Euro to total 40.200 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.500 to the runner-up and 3.000 to the third place finisher. Last-to-cash payout (40th place) is 400 Euro.

Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) gets underway on Monday, July 25, with Squads 1, 2 and 3 and runs through Saturday, July 30, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 10 p.m.

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events. Like last year, the 2016 Polish Open presented by Roto Grip features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.435ml oil volume.

Total 40 players will qualify for the finals – the top 30 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top four players from a separate leaderboard of the squads on Tuesday and Wednesday (squads 4-7), who are not among the top 30, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

The Turbo G5 and G6 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth and sixth game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

The top 10 qualifiers earn two byes, while qualifiers 11-20 get a first-round bye. The remaining 20 players advance to the first of two four-game rounds which will trim the field to 30 and then 20 players, who bowl a five-game round to cut to the top 9, who will be split into three groups (Group 1: 1, 6 and 7; Group 2: 2, 5 and 8; Group 3: 3, 4 and 9).

In each group the athletes will bowl two games with the total pinfall to determine the positions. The three group leaders will advance to the finals. The runner-ups will be ranked 4th to 6th according to the seeding after round three, while the second-runner-ups will be ranked 7th to 9th.

The three remaining players will bowl for the title using the same two games total pins format.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Chris Sloan, Jenny Wegner crack the top 5 at Polish Open
South Africa’s Francois Louw moves into second place in Poland
Germany’s Laura Beuthner takes early lead in Polish Open
Polish Open presented by Roto Grip – Tournament Preview
Carsten Warming Hansen wins his first EBT title in 2015 Roto Grip Polish Open
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women

2016 Polish Open – Qualifying Standings after Squad 10/16

Top 30 players from the qualifying standings, top four players from a separate leaderboard of squads 4-7 who are not among the top 30, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday’s finals.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.