Home » Navigation » World » World Cup » Martins, Zoghaib win 26th QubicaAMF Bowling Brazil Cup

Martins, Zoghaib win 26th QubicaAMF Bowling Brazil Cup


Stephanie Martins and Renan Zoghaib captured the women’s and men’s title in the 26th QubicaAMF Brazil Bowling Cup, sponsored by Pin1 Bowling Supply – QubicaAMF, September 9 at Bolix Bowling Gran Plaza Shopping, in Santo Andre, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The finals were broadcast live on All Sports Web TV. In the men’s title match, Zoghaib edged Celso Azevedo, 214-213, while Martins flew past Léa Castro in the women’s finale, 215-156.

The winners will represent their country at the 53rd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, which will be held at Bol 300 in Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico, November 4-12, 2017.

Zoghaib, a 32-year-old event coordinator, previously represented Brazil at the 2008 World Cup in Hermosillo, Mexico, at the 50th anniversary edition in Wroclaw, Poland, in 2014, and last year in Shanghai, China.

Martins, a 28-year-old student, will make her second appearance after the 2015 World Cup in Las Vegas, United States.

For the first time the qualifying for the Bowling World Cup was conducted simultaneously with the Individual Brazilian Championship, promoted by the Brazilian Bowling Confederation – Boliche Brazil (formerly CBBOL).

The Championship set a new participation record with 95 players from all over Brazil, 70 men and 25 women.

Other players, who have already been to the QubicaAMF World Cup, included Pan American Games champion Marcelo Suartz, who participated in 2010 (46th edition in France) and 2007 (43rd, Russia); Roberta Rodrigues, 2016 (52nd, China) and 2009 (45th, Malaysia); Roseli Santos, 2007 (43rd, Russia) and Lucia Vieira, 1999 (35th, United States).

Related Articles

53rd QubicaAMF World Cup to be held Nov. 4-12 in Hermosillo, Mexico

From left: Celso Azevedo, Marcelo Suartz, Renan Zoghaib and Márcio Vieira.

26th QubicaAMF Bowling Brazil Cup – Men’s Finals

Championship Round:
1. Renan Zoghaib, 214 (1 game)
2. Celso Azevedo, 678 (3 games)
3. Marcelo Suartz, 213 (1 game)
4. Márcio Vieira, 167 (1 game)

Playoff Results:
First Match: #4 Azevedo def. #3 Vieira, 245-167
Semi-final Match: Azevedo def. #2 Suartz, 220-213
Championship: #1 Zoghaib def. Azevedo, 214-213

From left: Dê Luqueti, Roseli Santos, Stephanie Martins and Léa Castro.

26th QubicaAMF Bowling Brazil Cup – Women’s Finals

Championship Round:
1. Stephanie Martins, 215 (1 game)
2. Léa Castro, 550 (3 games)
3. Roseli Santos, 203 (1 game)
4. Dê Luqueti, 160 (1 game)

Playoff Results:
First Match: #3 Castro def. #4 Luqueti, 190-160
Semi-final Match: Castro def. #2 Santos, 204-203
Championship: #1 Martins def. Castro, 215-156

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.