Home » Navigation » USBC » Youth » Missouri youth to receive Annual Zeb Scholarship

Missouri youth to receive Annual Zeb Scholarship


Dakota Miller of Potosi, Missouri, who is completing his senior year at Kingston High School, has been selected to receive the United States Bowling Congress Annual Zeb Scholarship for 2016.

The $2,500 scholarship award is presented each year to a USBC Youth member who is a junior or senior in high school, has strong academic success and has given back to their community through service. The winner is selected by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

“Receiving this scholarship is a tremendous honor, and it has the capacity to change my future for the better,” said Miller, who began bowling six years ago. “After finishing high school, I plan to attend Missouri State University. It is my goal to major in radiological technology, and I will volunteer in the area while attending the university.”

Miller, who has a 3.89 grade-point average (4.0 scale), is in the National Honor Society and has taken AP American History and courses for college credit in English, psychology and algebra.

He won best of show in the high school division at the Mineral Area College Science Fair and placed third at the MAMTA Math Competition. He took first in district in Reader’s Theatre, and received a 1 and 2 ranking in duet acting.

JimZebehazy.jpgHe has been a volunteer for blood drives, tutored kids in grades K-8, and been part of the science crew at school that teaches kids about the world of science. He has helped with trash pickup for the last three years with the Upward Bound program and served as master of ceremonies for the Veterans Day assembly.

Miller will be presented the Annual Zeb Award during the USBC Convention, scheduled for April 26-29 in Las Vegas.

The USBC Annual Zeb Scholarship, first was presented in 2005, is named for Jim Zebehazy (right), who served as executive director of the Young American Bowling Alliance from 1996-2004 and later as a regional manager for USBC.

Click here for more information on youth scholarships and awards for youth leaders.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.