Home » Navigation » USBC » Collegiate » Sectional field announced for 2016 ITC

Sectional field announced for 2016 ITC


The race to raise the Kerm Helmer Cup for the 2015-2016 United States Bowling Congress Collegiate season began Wednesday as sectional-qualifying assignments were determined for the 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships (ITC).

The four sectional qualifiers will be held March 12-13 at Suncoast Casino in Las Vegas; Smyrna Bowl in Smyrna, Tennessee; 30 Strikes in Stratford, New Jersey; and Stardust Bowl in Addison, Illinois.

The top four men’s and top four women’s teams from each sectional will advance to the ITC, which will be held April 20-23 at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kansas.

The complete men’s and women’s Intercollegiate Team Championships Sectional Qualifier field (teams listed in alphabetical order):

Men – Las Vegas Sectional
Arizona State, California State-Fresno, Central Oklahoma, Grand Canyon, Hastings, Lindenwood, Midland, Minnesota State-Mankato, Nebraska-Lincoln, Newman, North Texas, Pikeville, San Jose State, Texas A&M, West Texas A&M.

Men – Smyrna Sectional
Ball State, Bethel, Campbellsville, Cumberlands, Florida State, Kansas, Lawrence Tech, Lindenwood-Belleville, Lindsey Wilson, Marian, Martin Methodist, Missouri Baptist, Notre Dame-Ohio, Ohio State, Robert Morris-Illinois, Saginaw Valley State, Spring Hill, Toledo, Vincennes, Wichita State.

Men – Stratford Sectional
Adrian, Canisius, Cayuga CC, Concordia, Emmanuel, Erie CC, Hudson Valley CC, McKendree, Mohawk Valley CC, New Jersey, Northwestern Ohio, Penn State-Berks, Robert Morris-Pennsylvania, Rochester Institute of Technology, Schenectady County CC, Siena Heights, St. John’s, Urbana, Webber International, William Paterson.

Men – Addison Sectional
Bowling Green State, Calumet, Clarke, Davenport, Grand Valley State, Grand View, Highland CC, Huntington, Illinois State, Indiana Tech, Iowa Central CC, Morehead State, Morningside, Mount Mercy, Purdue, St. Ambrose, St. Francis-Illinois, Waldorf, William Penn, Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wisconsin-Oshkosh, Wisconsin-Stout, Wisconsin-Whitewater, Wright State.

Women – Las Vegas Sectional
Baker, Hastings, Lindenwood, Maryland Eastern Shore, Midland, Minnesota State-Mankato, Newman, Pikeville, Stephen F. Austin.

Women – Smyrna Sectional
Bellarmine, Bethel, Campbellsville, Cumberlands, Florida State, Lawrence Tech, Lindenwood-Belleville, Marian, North Carolina A&T, Notre Dame-Ohio, Ohio State, Robert Morris-Illinois, Spalding, Spring Hill, St. Catharine, Tulane, Union, Wichita State, Youngstown State.

Women – Stratford Sectional
Adrian, Concordia, Corning CC, Delaware State, Emmanuel, Felician, Kutztown, McKendree, Norfolk State, Northwestern Ohio, Sacred Heart, Schenectady County CC, Siena Heights, Urbana, Ursuline, Webber International.

Women – Addison Sectional
Alma, Bowling Green State, Calumet, Clarke, Elmhurst, Grand View, Highland CC, Huntington, Indiana Tech, Morehead State, Mount Mercy, Purdue, Rochester, St. Ambrose, St. Francis-Illinois, Viterbo, William Penn, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wisconsin-Whitewater, Wright State.

Sectional assignments are based on the Team Ranking System (TRS) points earned throughout the USBC Collegiate season. USBC Collegiate attempts to place no more than two of the top eight schools and no more than four of the top 16 schools in a sectional based on the final TRS totals.

Sectional qualifier fields are determined by taking geographic distance, economics and field size into consideration.

The sectional format consists of 32 Baker games each day for a total of 64 Baker games. Total pinfall for the 64 games will determine which teams advance to the ITC.

In addition, these four centers also will host qualifying for the 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships on March 11.

Student-athletes at each of the four sectional events will bowl six games with 24 men and 16 women – the top four men and top four women at each sectional plus eight additional selections from the men’s field based on the size of the field at each location – advancing to the national singles tournament on April 19 and 23 in Wichita.

For more information on USBC Collegiate, click here.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.