Home » Navigation » Asia » Three Bowling World Cup champion elected to Philippine Sports Hall of Fame

Three Bowling World Cup champion elected to Philippine Sports Hall of Fame


Bowling World Cup champions Paeng Nepomuceno, Bong Coo and Lita dela Rosa have been elected to the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame. The inductees will be formally honored on Nov. 22, the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) said yesterday (October 12, 2018).

According to a statement from the office of the Secretary General of the Philippine Bowling Federation Inc., Paeng’s choice was obvious as the 6-2 ft. lefty has won record four World Cup titles in 1978, 1980, 1992 and 1996. He also won gold medal in Doubles at the 2002 Asian Games, a silver medal in Singles at the 1987 FIQ World Championships and bronze medals in the 1993 and 1997 World Games.

Bong Coo won the Bowling World Cup in 1979 as well as gold medals in Doubles and All-Events at the FIQ World Championships in the same year. She successfully defended the All-Events title at the 1983 World Championships. Bong Coo captured five Asian Games gold medals (which is a Philippine record), including Masters, Singles and All-Events; 14 FIQ Asian Zone gold medals in 14 consecutive participations (an Asian record) which include the Masters titles in 1972 and 1992.

Lita dela Rosa (posthumous) won the Bowling World Cup in 1978, the gold medals in Singles, Doubles and Masters in the 1979 FIQ World Championships and the 1978 and 1986 Asian Games Team gold medals.

The Philippine Republic Act 8757, approved in 1999 by President Joseph Estrada, Section 2 states – the candidates to the Sports Hall of Fame shall be limited to those Filipino athletes, coaches and trainers who have distinguished themselves in local and international sports and who possess character and integrity: in the case of athletes, he/she must at least be a gold medalist in any Southeast Asian Games, a silver medalist in any Asian Games or Asian Cup or regional games, a bronze medalist in any Olympic or World Games, or a world champion in any professional or amateur sports competition.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.