Home » Navigation » Europe » News » Yifat Tal, Or Aviram win 2016 Israeli National Championships

Yifat Tal, Or Aviram win 2016 Israeli National Championships


Yifat Tal of Petach-Tikva club and Or Aviram of Haifa club won the women’s and men’s Israeli National Individual Championships which were held at “Bola” bowling center in Holon. It was the third title for Tal and the fourth for Aviram.

38 players participated in the 27th running of the event. All player bowled 18 games of qualifying over five days to determine the top 8 men and top 8 women who advanced to the semi-final round.

The Semifinals featured seven games of round robin match play with 20 pins bonus for each win and 5 pins bonus for games from 200 to 224, 10 pins bonus for 225-249 and 15 pins bonus for over games of 250 and higher. The top two players after match play bowled for the title in best-of-five games format starting with the second game at 1-0 for the top-seeded player.

Aviram dominated the men’s competition from game one en route to earn the No. 1 seed, 200 pins ahead of Ron Elhazov of Ramat Gan club. Starting with a 1-0 lead, Aviram won the first game 221-191, but Elhazov rebounded with a 209-196 win to narrow the gap to 1-2. Aviram, the 2013 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup champion, wrapped up the title in the next game with 247-174 for a 3-1 victory.

In the women’s championship, defending champion Lynne Fishler and Tal traded the lead after every game in the semifinals and pulled away from the rest of the field. Fishler finished nine pins ahead of Tal to earn the No. 1 seed. Starting the title match with a 1-0 deficit, Tal won three straight games, 218-170, 201-158 and 248-181, to cruise to the title with a 3-1 victory.

The champions will represent Israel at the 2016 European Champions Cup October 24-31 at Bowland Bowling Center in Olomouc, Czech Republic.

Photos courtesy of Yishay Shimon.

2016 Israeli National Championships – Men’s Semi-finals

Top 2 players advance to the title match


Top 3 from left to right: Ron Elhazov (2nd), champion Or Aviram and Ron Pardo (3rd).

2016 Israeli National Championships – Women’s Semi-finals

Top 2 players advance to the title match


Top 3 from left to right: Lynne Fishler (2nd), champion Yifat Tal and Shir Azulai (3rd).

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.