Home » Navigation » USBC » Tournaments » 2017 USBC Senior Queens moves to May 23-26

2017 USBC Senior Queens moves to May 23-26


Senior women bowlers will have the opportunity to compete in three national tournaments next year in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

The 2017 United States Bowling Congress Senior Queens will take place May 23-26 at Circle Bowl in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and $20,000 has been added to the prize fund. The 32 bowlers who advance to match play will cash at the event.

The USBC Senior Queens immediately will follow the USBC Queens, allowing senior competitors the opportunity to bowl in both events. The event previously had been scheduled to run alongside the Queens at the Baton Rouge River Center, but a change was made to better manage capacity.

The Senior Queens also will feature a new Super Senior element in 2017. The top eight non-cashing Super Seniors (age 60 and older) will bowl in a bracket for a special prize fund.

Senior Queens bowlers who also want to bowl in the USBC Women’s Championships can take advantage of a limited number of spots being held in the event. USBC has spots reserved on May 26-27 just for Senior Queens competitors, and bowlers interested in moving their Women’s Championships dates to these days will need to call 817-385-8325 or 817-385-8257 by Dec. 1.

Open to USBC members age 50 or older, the Senior Queens was first contested in 2000 and attracts an outstanding field from all over the world.

Qualifying for the 2017 Senior Queens will consist of 15 qualifying games before the field is cut to the top 31 players, plus three-time defending champion Robin Romeo of Newhall, California, for match play. Match play will determine the top five bowlers for the stepladder finals that will be shown live on BowlTV, the official YouTube channel of USBC.

Click here for more information and the complete schedule.

Related Articles

Robin Romeo wins third consecutive USBC Senior Queens title
Robin Romeo makes history at 2015 USBC Senior Queens
Robin Romeo wins 2014 USBC Senior Queens
Lucy Sandelin rolls big games on her way to the 2013 USBC Senior Queens title
Anne Marie Duggan wins 2012 United States Bowling Congress Senior Queens
Paula Vidad remains undefeated to win 2011 USBC Senior Queens
Char Hammel remains undefeated and looks to defend USBC Senior Queens title
Janine Primrose remains undefeated, wins 2009 USBC Senior Queens
Sandy Postma becomes first three-time USBC Senior Queens Champion
Lucy Sandelin wins 2007 USBC Senior Queens

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.