Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Bodo Konieczny wins qualifying at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open

Bodo Konieczny wins qualifying at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


For the fourth consecutive day, Bodo Konieczny of Germany refused to fall to finish the qualifying portion of the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open atop the 193-player leaderboard Saturday night at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany.

Along with first and second round bye awarded to the top 4 qualifiers, the long-time German national team member (pictured above) received a 300 Euro bonus. 2016 European Bowling Tour men’s point ranking leader Richard Teece of England got a 150 Euro bonus for second place with 1389.

Third place belonged to Lucas Legnani (left; 1382) of Argentina, who finished second in the San Marino Open last weekend. Rounding out the top 4 was Mikael Roos of Sweden with 1372.

John Guldbaek of Denmark, who tied Roos at 1372, but had the lower last game to sit in fifth place, led the group of four players who received a first round bye. Francois Louw (right) of South Africa, who was third in the Madrid Challenge two weeks ago and sixth in San Marino (both won by Francois Lavoie, who bowls for Canada in the World Games), won squad 16 on Saturday to take over sixth place with 1364 and an average of 227.33.

Squad 2 leader Clemens Ulsamer of Germany fell one spot to seventh place with 1348 and was followed by Zulmazran Zulkifli (left) of Malaysia, who finished the last squad 17 with a huge 290 game to land in eighth place with 1339.

Zulkifli is a relatively recent convert to the two-handed bowling style. At a point in his career when he was ready to give up the sport, Zulkifli, a 13-time winner in Asia, decided to make the change to a two-handed delivery about 18 months ago because he felt he was no longer competitive using the normal one-handed delivery.

Rounding out the top 10 were the both squad leader from Saturday, Ivan Semenov (right) of Russia, who led squad 14 with 1334, and Carsten Warming Hansen (left) of Denmark, who led squad 15 with 1333.

The top two of 34 women in the field, who also received 300 and 150 Euro bonuses, were Vanessa Timter (16th, 1310) and Janine-Manuela Gabel (20th, 1305) of Germany.

Cristina Sanz of Spain took the 34th and last place to advance from the overall leaderboard with 1237, an average of 206.17, and 1285 total, including 8 pins handicap each game, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

Those 34 will be joined in Sunday’s finals by six “Early Birds”, four players from a special “High-Low” list and four players from the “Desperado Squad” (pictured).

From left: Rasmus Edvall, Sweden (225), Cosimo Martignano, Switzerland (222), Tim Stampe, Denmark (225) and Peter Hellström, Sweden (252).

The 8th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger is the 7th stop of the 2017 European Bowling Tour and the lone EBT “Silver” tournaments this season. The tournament will be held July 15-23 at 52-lane Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany.

The Track DBP Open offers total prize fund of 45.000 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.500 to the runner-up, and 2.000 and 1.500 Euro to the third and fourth place finisher, respectively. Final cash spot is 48th place to pay 500 Euro.

Qualifying ran from Saturday July 15, through Saturday, July 22. The top 2 men and the top 2 women after qualifying received 300 and 150 Euro bonuses, respectively.

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

Total 48 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, July 23, including the top 34 from the overall qualifying standings plus the top 6 of squads 1-6, the top 4 from a “High-Low” list (two-game total of lowest and highest game; additional 10 Euro per squad) and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad. The top 4 qualifiers earned two byes, while qualifiers 5-8 received a first-round bye.

The finals kick off with three four-game rounds, each beginning from scratch, which trim the field to 28, 16 and then eight players. Those eight bowl another four-game block with the pinfall from Round 3 carried forward.

The remaining four players roll one game with highest nine-game total determining the two finalists, who bowl one additional game for the title.

The 2017 European Bowling Tour features 11 tournaments in 9 countries including two “Platinum”, two “Gold”, one “Silver”, three “Bronze” and three “Satellite” events, which offer total prize fund of roughly 560.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 8 men and top 8 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 11th EBT Masters February 12, 2018 in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Related Articles

Bodo Konieczny refuses to fall at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
Bodo Konieczny leads Track Open as qualifying reaches halfway point
Argentina’s Lucas Legnani moves into second place in Munich
Bodo Konieczny shoots into lead at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
Clemens Ulsamer sets the pace as Track Open gets underway in Munich
2017 European Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions

Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

Top 34 plus the top 6 of squads 1-6, the top 4 from a “High-Low” list and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 23.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.