Germany's Beckel, Wimmer sweep Masters titles for 2014 International Seniors Bowling Tour


    2014 ISBT Masters

    ISBT announces hosts for ISBT Masters finals for the 2015 season (Dream Bowl in Munich) and 2016 season (Vegas Bowling in Osnabrück)



    Martina Beckel and Herrmann Wimmer of Germany, who did not win any of the 2014 International Seniors Bowling Tour events, captured the men's and women's Masters titles for the 2014 season October 2nd at Planet Bowling in Lomme, France. Pictured above are the Round Two finalists.

    Every year, the top competitors from the ISBT series of tournaments are invited to participate in the Masters Final. There is no entry fee to participate. The prize fund of over 9.000 Euro is generated from the tournaments run during the year.

    For the 2014 season, the tournament was held during the 2015 French Senior Open in Lomme, France, and the top 32 men and 12 women from the previous year's rankings were invited.

    The tournament was played on the Kegel Beaten Path challenge pattern. Age bonus started at age 51 (1 pin per game), then increased a pin for every additional year of age with no limit.

    In the first round, the men ranked from 9 to 32, and the women ranked from 5 to 12 bowled a four game block, the top 12 men and 4 women advanced to the second round. Beckel led the women with 872, followed by Farida Pascoal-Blom of the Netherlands with 818.

    In the men's section, the scoring was high, and in game three, Juha Lethikangas of Finland and Carlo Greulich of Germany, a three-time winner on the 2014 ISBT, bowling on adjacent pairs both had the first nine strikes.

    Lethikangas finished first, and hit three more good strikes for a 300 game, to be followed in identical manner by Greulich a few minutes later. Frank Lindsay of England was top man overall in the round with 988, ahead of Helmut Ulber of Germany with 970.

    The top bowlers from round one were then joined by the top seeds for a further four games. In the second game, it looked like another 300 was on the cards, with Beckel, the dominating player in the 2015 season with four victories, making the first nine strikes, before leaving an 7-9 on her first ball in the tenth frame.

    Top seed Liliane Vintens of Belgium, a three-time champion in 2014, was top woman of this round with 936, ahead of Beckel. Two English bowlers would join them in the next round, Angie Brown, the other three-time winner in 2014, and Jan Hodge.

    In the men's section, there was a further 300, this time for Herman Wimmer, who then led the men's section with 985, ahead of Ron Oldfield of England.

    In the next round, 50% of pinfall from the previous round would carry through.

    ISBTMasters2014LilianeVintensMartinaBeckelAngieBrown.jpgIn the women's section, Vintens and Beckel were some way ahead of the other two bowlers, and finished in the top two positions to make the grand final. Brown finished ahead of Hodge to secure third place.

    L-R Vintens, Beckel and Brown.

    In this round, eight men were competing for a top four place, and top four were three Englishmen – Mo Singleton, Oldfield, a two-time champion in 2014, and Les Grant, and lone German Wimmer.

    The four remaining men then played a further two games, with Wimmer and Oldfield getting the top two spots for the grand final, while Singleton earned the third place position.

    ISBTMasters2014RonOldfieldHermanWimmerMoSingleton.jpgThe ladies final was full of strikes, with Beckel hitting eleven in her 279 scratch game to comfortably defeat Vintens and become champion and win the 750 Euro top prize.

    L-R Oldfiel, Wimmer and Singleton.

    The men's final was closer, and went down to the last frame. Oldfield doubled in the 9th and 10th frame, leaving Wimmer needing a double in the tenth for victory. This he achieved, to become the Masters champion for the 2014 season, and winning 1.450 Euro.

    During the awards presentation, the location of the 2015 Masters was announced to be Dream Bowl in Munich, to be held at the same time as the ISBT tour stop in early September 2016. The location for the 2016 Masters was also announced, and will be held at Vegas Bowling in Osnabrück, Germany in early 2017.

    Full details are available at Report by Tony Brown.


    Related Articles

    Liliane Vintens, Lol Ellis conclude 2014 ISBT season with victory in French Senior Open
    Angie Brown, Carlo Greulich win their third ISBT title this season in Böblingen Senior Open
    Liliane Vintens, Ron Oldfield win second ISBT title this season in 50+ Euro Bowling Open
    Farida Pascoal-Blom, Carlo Greulich walk away the winners in Dutch Senior Open
    England's Angie Brown, Ron Oldfield sweep the titles in 2014 Flanders Senior Open
    Angie Brown, Olle Svensson capture the titles in 1st Senior Open - Dream-Bowl Palace 2014
    Carlo Greulich, Brigitte Fievet emerge as champions in Alsace Senior Open
    Andre Geelen, Liliane Vintens win ISBT season-opening event in Reims, France
    2014 International Seniors Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions