Home » Navigation » World » Championships » Eleven countries to compete in 7th Commonwealth Championship

Eleven countries to compete in 7th Commonwealth Championship


The VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship will be held from Nov. 19-27 at Northcliff Bowl in Johannesburg, the largest city in South Africa.

This is the seventh edition of the championship, after being inaugurated in 2002 in Scotland events have been staged in Cyprus, Australia, Northern Ireland, Malaysia and New Zealand.

11 member countries of the Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Federation (CTBF) – Australia, Bermuda, England, India, Jersey, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Northern Ireland, Wales and the host country South Africa – will participate in the event.

Each team consists of maximum four players, two women and two men, who compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in women’s and men’s singles and doubles, mixed doubles and mixed teams, each event decided by the highest six-game total.

There will be no medals awarded in all-events in this Championship. The top 12 women and the top 12 men in all-events (24-game total pinfall in singles, doubles, mixed doubles and mixed team) will advance to the masters finals.

After 11 games of round robin match play plus one position round match, the top three players will advance to the stepladder finals which will conclude the Championship on Saturday, Nov. 26.

Related Articles

Wildlife beckons bowlers to Johannesburg

VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship – Schedule

All times South Africa Standard Time (SAST)

Saturday, November 19, 2016
Latest day of arrival for competitors

Sunday, November 20, 2016
09:00-10:00 Team Manager Meeting
10:00-11:00 Ball Registration
11:00-13:30 Official Practice
13:30-14:00 Lane Maintenance
14:00-15:30 Official Practice
16:00-18:00 Opening & Welcoming Ceremony

Monday, November 21, 2016
09:30-10:30 Lane Maintenance
11:00-13:30 Men’s Singles (6 games)
14:00-15:00 Lane Maintenance
15:00-17:30 Women’s Singles (6 games)

Tuesday, November 22, 2016
08:30-09:00 Lane Maintenance
09:00-11:30 Women’s Doubles (6 games)
11:30-12:00 Lane Maintenance
11:30-12:00 Medal Ceremony Men’s & Women Singles
12:00-14:30 Men’s Doubles (6 games)
14:30-15:00 Lane Maintenance
14:30-15:00 Medal Ceremony Men’s & Women Doubles
15:00-17:30 Mixed Doubles – Squad A (6 games)

Wednesday, November 23, 2016
08:00-08:30 Lane Maintenance
08:30-11:00 Mixed Doubles – Squad B (6 games)
11:30 Excursion to Lion & Rhino Park
18:00 Optional dinner at local venue

Thursday, November 24, 2016 (revised)
09:30-10:30 Lane Maintenance
10:30-13:00 Mixed Team Event (first 3-game block)
13:00-13:30 Lane Maintenance
13:00-13:30 Medal Ceremony Mixed Doubles
13:30-16:00 Mixed Team Event (second 3-game block)
18:00 onwards Cultural dancing & traditional dining
20:00-22:00 CTBF Congress

Friday, November 25, 2016
09:00-10:00 Lane Maintenance
10:00-12:30 Women’s Masters (12 games)
12:30-13:00 Lane Maintenance
13:00-15:30 Men’s Masters (12 games)

Saturday, November 26, 2016
09:00-10:00 Lane Maintenance
10:00-14:00 Women’s & Men’s Stepladder Finals
19.00-23:30 Victory Banquet

Sunday, November 27, 2016

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.