Home » Navigation » USBC » Collegiate » Eckhoff, Hanson capture 2016 Intercollegiate Singles titles

Eckhoff, Hanson capture 2016 Intercollegiate Singles titles


Hastings junior Emily Eckhoff and Robert Morris-Illinois freshman Daniel Hanson captured individual titles Saturday at the 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kansas.

Eckhoff (pictured above) defeated Fairleigh Dickinson’s Morgan Brown, 227-222, to become the first player in ISC history to repeat as champion, while Hanson defeated San Jose State’s Darren Tang, 203-174, to garner the men’s title.

CBS Sports Network will air the semifinals and finals for the women May 10 at 9 p.m. Eastern, while the men’s broadcast will be May 17 at 9 p.m. Eastern.

In contrast to last year’s victory, Eckhoff had to come from behind to repeat. Brown could have doubled in the 10th frame to shut out Eckhoff, but she only was able to strike on her first offering. Eckhoff, who made a ball change earlier in the game, calmly doubled in the final stanza to capture her second consecutive ISC crown.

“This is the greatest feeling ever,” said Eckhoff, who was selected as a National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association Second Team All-American.

“I knew I needed to come out aggressive, especially after making a ball change. Once I made that ball change, I knew I needed to throw the best shots of my life. And, I accomplished it this time. This is the greatest feeling ever, and I’m still shocked by it.”

Eckhoff earned her spot in the finals by defeating Webber International’s Tawni Vollmer, 208-188, in the semifinals, while Brown bested Stephen F. Austin’s Stephanie Schwartz in the other semifinal, 210-162.

In the men’s title match, Hanson struggled early with opens in two of the first three frames, but a timely ball change, and back-to-back opens from Tang in frames eight and nine, provided Hanson the chance to shut out Tang for the win. Hanson delivered two strikes in the 10th frame to seal the ISC victory.

“I just tried to stay as calm as I could,” said Hanson, who rolled a 300 game during ISC Sectional qualifying to earn his spot in Wichita.

“Obviously, you look up at the scoreboard when you’re in that situation, and I saw I could get the ninth, and two in the 10th (frame), to pretty much lock it up as long as I stayed behind the line on the third one. So, I just said ‘calm down and throw the best shots of your life.'”

Hanson defeated UNLV’s Dallas Leong in his semifinal match, 212-180, opening the contest with four strikes in the first five frames to set the tone. Darren, who was trying to follow in the footprints of his younger brother, Michael, who captured the 2015 ISC win, also at Northrock Lanes, survived a late scare from Robert Morris-Illinois’ Kenny Ryan to advance in the other men’s semifinal match, 218-205.

For more information on the Intercollegiate Singles Championships, click here.

Related Articles

Semifinals set 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships
Field determined or 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships
Sectional field announced for 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships

2016 ISC – Men’s Match Play Results

Single elimination; three-game matches decided by total pinfall; semifinals and final, one-game matches

Round 1
(17) Michael Davidson, Calumet, def. (16) Cory Schultz, Morehead State, 547-507
(9) Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater, def. (24) Amando Villa, St. John’s, 579-524
(20) Collin Smith, McKendree, def. (13) James Rutledge, Nebraska, 585-545
(21) Kenneth Ryan, Robert Morris-Illinois, def. (12) AJ Chapman, Wichita State, 576-512
(18) Ben Pallardy, Lindenwood, def. (15) Michael Kissel, Suffolk County CC, 586-568
(10) Meeco Walker, Notre Dame-Ohio, def. (23) Kenneth Smith, Florida State, 607-499
(14) Nick Eckert, Calumet, def. (19) Ashton Maxwell, Webber International, 642-586
(22) Zachary Doty, Morehead State, def. (11) Tyler Albracht, West Texas A&M, 621-552

Round 2
Davidson def. (1) Joshua Anderson, St. Ambrose, 639-579
(8) Darren Tang, San Jose State, def. Kruml, 660-642
Smith def. (4) Jacob Yazell, Morehead State, 637-591
Ryan def. (5) Matthew Russo, Webber International, 560-549
Pallardy def. (2) Stephen Cowland, Wichita State, 692-577
(7) Dallas Leong, UNLV, def. Walker, 801-697
Eckert def. (3) Brandon Runk, William Paterson, 557-512
(6) Daniel Hanson, Robert Morris-Illinois, def. Doty, 593-571

Tang def. Davidson, 608-527
Ryan def. Smith, 615-493
Leong def. Pallardy, 650-554
Hanson def. Eckert, 718-671

Darren Tang, San Jose State def. Kenneth Ryan, Robert Morris-Illinois, 218-205
Daniel Hanson, Robert Morris-Illinois def. Dallas Leong, UNLV, 212-180

Hanson def. Tang, 203-174.

2016 ISC – Women’s Match Play Results

Single elimination; three-game matches decided by total pinfall; semifinals and final, one-game matches

Round 1
(9) Nicole Troha, St. Francis-Illinois, def. (16) Mallory Caraway, Martin Methodist, 558-528
(13) Jacqueline Evans, Lawrence Tech, def. (12) Miranda Hejny, Newman, 660-578
(10) Haley Williams, Newman, def. (15) Samantha Pasch, Indiana Tech, 582-476
(11) Tawni Vollmer, Webber International, def. (14) Crystal Land, Campbellsville, 599-543

Round 2
(8) Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin, def. Troha, 723-649
Evans def. (5) Catherine Maher, St. Ambrose, 659-621
(7) Emily Eckhoff, Hastings, def. Williams, 578-544
Vollmer def. (6) Estefania Cobo, Wichita State, 648-608

Schwartz def. (1) Verity Crawley, Webber International, 663-623
(4) Morgan Brown, Fairleigh Dickinson, def. Evans, 705-544
Eckhoff def. (2) Julia Bond, Nebraska, 782-772
Vollmer def. (3) Stephanie Sheridan, Delaware State, 651-637

Emily Eckhoff, Hastings def. Tawni Vollmer, Webber International, 208-188
Morgan Brown, Fairleigh Dickinson def. Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin, 210-162

Eckhoff def. Brown, 227-222.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.