Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA League » Fans invited to pick the winner in PBA League contest

Fans invited to pick the winner in PBA League contest


Can the Bowlingball.com Silver Lake Atom Splitters win a third consecutive PBA League Elias Cup title? That’s a question to be decided as the eight-team PBA League bracket plays out later in the spring, and if you can pick the team that wins the 2016 Elias Cup, you could win a replica High 5 Gear championship team jersey along with a bowling pin autographed by the winning team members.

The PBA League Elias Eight Bracket Contest is a new “PBA Year of the Fan” promotion featuring the four-year-old PBA team competition. One lucky fan who correctly picks the winners of seven PBA League matches will be declared the winner.

In case of ties, whomever comes closest in determining the total pinfall for both teams in the five-player Elias Cup final match will be the first tiebreaker, and time of entry will be the second if needed. The winner will be announced on Monday, May 9.

To enter the contest, fans ages 21 or older must fill out the official PBA League Elias Eight bracket and post it on your Facebook or Twitter page using the hashtag #PBAEliasCup and tag the PBA social channels (https://www.facebook.com/ProfessionalBowlersAssociation) or @PBATour.

All brackets must be posted no later than 8 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. PDT) on Thursday, March 31. See complete rules below. The official bracket can be found on pba.com, or look for a link on PBA’s Facebook or Twitter pages.

PBA League competition will be contested April 2-3 at Bayside Bowl in Portland, Maine, for telecast on ESPN on four consecutive Sundays at 1 p.m. EDT, beginning Sunday, April 17.

2014PBALeagueFinalSilverLakeAtomSplitters.jpg2015PBALChampionsSilverLakeAtomSplitters.jpgSilver Lake, managed by Mark Baker, won the 2014 title with a roster featuring Chris Barnes, Dom Barrett, Wes Malott, Tommy Jones and Bryon Smith (pictured left).

It repeated in Portland in 2015 as the Bass Pro Shops Silver Lake Atom Splitters with a roster including Barnes, Koivuniemi, Craig Nidiffer, Tom Daugherty and PBA League Mark Roth MVP Dick Allen (right).

The Atom Splitters will enter the 2016 Elias Cup bracket as the top-seeded team, returning with Baker managing a roster including Barnes, Allen, Daugherty and newcomers Matt McNiel and 2016 FireLake PBA Tournament of Champions winner Jesper Svensson. The other seven teams are seeded based upon how they finished in the 2015 Elias Cup finals.

The 2016 PBA League schedule, and complete rosters, are included below.

Related Articles

Silver Lake Atom Splitters gear up for PBA League “three-peat”
2016 PBA League returns to Maine; draft set for December 17 in Reno
Silver Lake Atom Splitters repeat as PBA League Elias Cup champions
Silver Lake Atom Splitters win 2014 PBA League Elias Cup
New York City WTT KingPins win inaugural PBA League Elias Cup

2016 PBA League Rosters

  1. GEICO New York City WTT Kingpins (manager Carolyn Dorin-Ballard): Pete Weber, Scott Norton, Mike Fagan, Marshall Kent, John Szczerbinski.
  2. Barbasol Motown Muscle (manager Del Ballard Jr.): EJ Tackett, Ronnie Russell, Josh Blanchard, Anthony Simonsen, Danielle McEwan.
  3. GoBowling.com Dallas Strikers (player-manager Norm Duke): Bill O’Neill, Tommy Jones, Duke, Shawn Maldonado, B.J. Moore.
  4. High 5 Gear Philadelphia Hitmen (manager Jason Couch): Dom Barrett, Chris Loschetter, Rhino Page, Tom Smallwood, Dave Wodka.
  5. Shipyard Portland Lumberjacks (manager Tim Mack): Bryon Smith, Wes Malott, Osku Palermaa, Ryan Ciminelli, Liz Johnson.
  6. Concrete Software Brooklyn Styles (manager Johnny Petraglia): Sean Rash, Parker Bohn III, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Jason Sterner, Jon VanHees.
  7. BJ’s L.A. X (manager Andrew Cain): Jason Belmonte, Stu Williams, Martin Larsen, Patrick Allen, Andres Gomez.
  8. Bowlingball.com Silver Lake Atom Splitters (manager Mark Baker): Chris Barnes, Dick Allen, Tom Daugherty, Matt McNiel, Jesper Svensson.

2016 PBA League Elias Cup Schedule

Bayside Bowl in Portland, Maine, USA (March 31 – April 3, 2016)

Thursday, March 31, 2016
4 p.m. – Invitational corporate pro-am
7 p.m. – Bayside Bowl pro-am squad

Friday, April 1, 2016
6:15 p.m. – Silver Lake Atom Splitters and New York WTT KingPins practice session
7 p.m. – Philadelphia Hitmen and Portland Lumberjacks practice session
7:45 p.m. – L.A. X and Motown Muscle practice session
8:30 p.m. – Brooklyn StYles and Dallas Strikers practice session

Saturday, April 2, 2016
(best of two games, Baker format; one-ball roll-off to break ties)
Noon – Quarterfinal Match One: Silver Lake Atom Splitters vs. New York City WTT KingPins
Quarterfinal Match Two: Philadelphia Hitmen vs. Portland Lumberjacks
(ESPN telecast: Sunday, April 17, 1 p.m. ET)
3:30 P.M. – Quarterfinal Match Three: L.A. X vs. Motown Muscle
Quarterfinal Match Four: Brooklyn STyLES vs. Dallas Strikers
(ESPN telecast: Sunday, April 24, 1 p.m. ET)

Sunday, April 3, 2016
(best of two games, Baker format; roll-off to break ties)
Noon – Semifinal Match One: Winner Match One vs. Winner Match Two
Semifinal Match Two: Winner Match Three vs. Winner Match Four
(ESPN telecast: Sunday, May 1, 1 p.m. ET)
3:30 p.m. – Elias Cup Finals: Winner Semifinal One vs. Winner Semifinal Two
total pinfall (singles, 1 point; alternate-shot doubles, 1 point; trios, 1 point; Baker team, 3 points)
(ESPN telecast: Sunday, May 8, 1 p.m. ET)

PBA Elias Eight Bracket Contest Rules

Open only to legal U.S. residents, who are 21 years of age or older at time of entry. Employees of the Professional Bowlers Association (“PBA”) and the immediate family members and/or those living in the same household of each are NOT ELIGIBLE. Void where prohibited. All federal, state and local laws and regulations apply. No substitution or transfer of prize permitted except as provided herein. All federal, state and local taxes on prizes are the sole responsibility of winner. Winner will be notified by phone/email. PBA reserves the right to substitute prize of equal or greater value if an advertised prize becomes unavailable. Acceptance of prize constitutes permission for the PBA and to use winner’s name and/or likeness for purposes of advertising and trade worldwide without limitation and without further compensation, unless prohibited by law. By accepting prize, winner agrees to hold PBA, its directors, officers, employees and assigns, harmless against any and all claims or liability of any kind arising out of or in connection with, participation in this sweepstakes, the acceptance or use of prize, or participation in prize related activities. By participating in this promotion, entrants agree to be bound by these Official Rules. PBA not responsible for any typographical or other error in the printing of the offer, administration of the sweepstakes or in the announcement of the prize.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.