Home » Navigation » USBC » Collegiate » Field determined for 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships

Field determined for 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships


The 24 men and 16 women who will compete for individual national titles at the 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships were determined at four sectional qualifiers held Friday.

The 2016 Intercollegiate Singles Championships will be held April 19 and 23 at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kansas. Both the men’s and women’s finals will be taped for broadcast on CBS Sports Network in May.

At Friday’s sectionals, all participants bowled six games with the top four women at each sectional advancing to the national event. The men’s advancers were determined based on the number of entries at each sectional.

Six men advanced from the Smyrna, Tennessee, sectional, including Daniel Hanson of Robert Morris-Illinois, who had a 300 game. Team USA member AJ Chapman of Wichita State led the qualifiers with a 1,373 pinfall total (a 228.8 average) with Kenneth Smith III of Florida State, Kenneth Ryan of Robert Morris-Illinois, Stephen Cowland of Wichita State, Hanson, and Notre Dame-Ohio’s Meeco Walker, who took second at the 2015 ISC, also qualifying.

Jacqueline Evans of Lawrence Tech had a 1,275 pinfall total to lead the women’s qualifiers in Smyrna. Also advancing were Campbellsville’s Crystal Land, Wichita State’s Estefania Cobo and Mallory Caraway of Martin Methodist.

Michael Kissel of Suffolk County Community College led men’s qualifying at the Stratford, New Jersey, sectional with a 1,346 pinfall total. Also advancing were Amando Jay Villa of St. John’s, Ashton Maxwell of Webber International, Brandon Runk of William Paterson, Collin Smith of McKendree and Matthew Russo of Webber International.

Fairleigh Dickinson’s Morgan Brown was the top women’s qualifier at the Stratford sectional, posting a 1,320 pinfall total, and was joined by Webber International’s Verity Crawley, an ISC semifinalist in 2015, and Stephanie Sheridan of Delaware State. Webber’s Tawni Vollmer claimed the final spot, winning a roll-off after she tied Emmanuel College’s Ashley Crowder and Destiny Harper after the six qualifying games.

Nebraska’s Julia Bond, who took second at the 2015 ISC, was the top women’s qualifier at the Addison, Illinois, sectional with a 1,257 pinfall total. Samantha Pasch of Indiana Tech, St. Francis-Illinois’ Nicole Troha and Catherine Maher of St. Ambrose also qualified.

Three Morehead State bowlers were among the eight men who qualified from the Addison sectional. Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Nick Kruml led the sectional with 1,364 followed by Nick Eckert and Michael Davidson of Calumet College of St. Joseph, Lindenwood’s Ben Pallardy, Joshua Anderson of St. Ambrose and the trio from Morehead State – Jacob Yazell, Zachary Doty and Cory Schultz.

At the Las Vegas sectional, 2015 ISC champion Emily Eckhoff finished second to Newman’s Haley Williams (1,304) to advance. Team USA member and 2016 U.S. Amateur champion Stephanie Schwartz of Stephen F. Austin and Newman’s Miranda Hejny also advanced from the sectional.

Tyler Albracht of West Texas A&M posted the high men’s total of the day (1,378) at the Las Vegas sectional. Also qualifying from the sectional were James Rutledge of Nebraska, San Jose State’s Darren Tang and Dallas Leong of Nevada-Las Vegas.

Click here for complete results from all sectionals and more information about the Intercollegiate Single Championships.

Related Articles

Sectional field announced for 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.