Home » Navigation » World » Championships » Malaysia, Malta take gold in Singles at Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship

Malaysia, Malta take gold in Singles at Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship


Muhd Nur Aiman of Malaysia and Tiziana Carannante of Malta started the VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship with victory in men’s and women’s singles.

Nur Aiman and his teammate Timmy Tan swept gold and silver in men’s singles, the opening event of the Championship, which got underway Monday morning at Northcliff Bowl in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Pictured above, from left, 2016 CTBC men’s singles medalists: Timmy Tan (2nd), Muhd Nur Aiman (1st), and Akaash Kumar (3rd).

2016CTBCMuhdNurAiman2After starting the event with a 173 effort, Nur Aiman (left), the lone left-handed bowler in the 21-player men’s field, averaged 255 for the remaining five games, including 266, 248, 235, 268 and 258, to cruise to the title with 1448 pinfall total and an average of 241.30 over six games.

Nur Aiman out averaged his compatriot by more than 15 pins. Tan used games of 269, 224, 224, 205, 200 and 234 to secure the silver medal with 1356 (226 avg.).

2016CTBCAkaashKumarFour players battled it out for the bronze medal. Starting the last game in sixth position, Akaash Kumar (right) of India finished with his high game of 234 and 1315 total to beat out David Maycock of Bermuda for third place by just one pin. Despite a 230 last game, Maycock had to settle for fourth place with 1314.

Robert Bruce of Wales slipped from third to fifth place behind a 178 in game six and 1296 total. Kumar’s fellow countryman Dhruv Sarda, who came out of the gates commandingly with 234 and 279, slipped all the way out of the medals and tied Bruce for fifth place.

2016CTBCTizianaCarannante2On the women’s side, Malta’s Sue Abela and Tiziana Carannante were first and second after five games with Abela holding a narrow 13-pin lead. Carannante (left), one of two southpaws in the women’s field (Isobel Smith of Northern Ireland is the other), followed a 168 opening game with 239, 203, 233 and 236 and closed with a high game of 246 to wrap up the title with 1325 and an average of 220.80.

Pictured above, from left, 2016 CTBC women’s singles medalists: Rebecca Whiting (2nd), Tiziana Carannante (1st), and Sue Abela (3rd).

Rebecca Whiting of Australia used a 228 last game to move into second place to take the silver medal with 1285 (214.20). Abela, who led the 20-player field from ten countries after three games (207, 226 and 269) by 71 pins, finished with 187 and slipped to third place to earn the bronze medal with 1279 (213.29).

Abela survived a late scare from Siti Safiyah of Malaysia, who closed with 234 and 227 but fell 12 pins short to settle for fourth place with 1267. Louise Roberts of Wales, who was only six pins behind Carannante heading into the sixth game, fell to fifth place with
1261 due to a 188 last game.

Action shifts to the doubles competition on Tuesday. The women will start a 9 a.m. South Africa Standard Time (SAST) with the men to follow at noon. The second day of competition will conclude with the first squad of the mixed doubles event scheduled to start a 3 p.m.

2016CTBCLogo2The VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship will be held from Nov. 19-27 at Northcliff Bowl in Johannesburg, the largest city in South Africa.

This is the seventh edition of the championship, after being inaugurated in 2002 in Scotland events have been staged in Cyprus, Australia, Northern Ireland, Malaysia and New Zealand.

The 2016 CTBC drew 21 men and 20 women from 11 countries, Australia, Bermuda, England, India, Jersey, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Northern Ireland, Wales and the host country South Africa.

All teams but Mauritius (one male bowler only) consist of four players, two women and two men, who compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in women’s and men’s singles and doubles, mixed doubles and mixed teams, each event decided by the highest six-game total.

There will be no medals awarded in all-events in this Championship. The top 12 women and the top 12 men in all-events (24-game total pinfall in singles, doubles, mixed doubles and mixed team) will advance to the masters finals.

After 11 games of round robin match play plus one position round match, the top three players will advance to the stepladder finals which will conclude the Championship on Saturday, Nov. 26.

Photos courtesy of Tony Brown.

Related Articles

Eleven countries to compete in 7th Commonwealth Championship

VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship – Women’s Singles

VII Commonwealth Tenpin Bowling Championship – Men’s Singles

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.