Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Malaysia’s Sin Li Jane shoots into lead in San Marino

Malaysia’s Sin Li Jane shoots into lead in San Marino


2016EBT09MarkusJansson2.jpg2016EBT09DominicBarrett.jpgFor the second consecutive day at the Storm San Marino Open, Asian women put a stamp on the qualifying Thursday at Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino. Sin Li Jane of Malaysia, who won squad 9 on Wednesday with 1329 improved by 170 pins in squad 12 to shoot into the qualifying lead with 1499 total, including handicap.

Sin Li (pictured above) averaged 241.83 for 1451 scratch, including games of 266, 238, 235, 203, 252 and 257, and added 48 pins handicap, an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events, to overtake previous leader Markus Jansson (left) of Sweden by 45 pins.

The Malaysian professional, a frequent competitor on the Professional Women’s Bowling Association Tour in the United States, is the best of 26 women in the 186-player field from 25 countries. As the qualifying winner Sin Li would receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Jansson, who led qualifying since squad 5 with 1454, slipped one spot to second place. Two-time defending San Marino Open champion Dominic Barrett (above right) of England averaged 241.67 on Thursday evening to lead squad 14 and to leap into third place with 1450.

2016WECMastersJolinePerssonPlanefors.jpg2016EBT09StuartWilliams2.jpgFresh off a third-place finish in the Brunswick Madrid Challenge last week, the four-time Professional Bowlers Association champion and 11-time European Bowling Tour titlist put together games of 217, 217, 278, 214, 279 and 245.

European champion and two time women’s point ranking leader (2011, 2013) Joline Persson Planefors (left) of Sweden was just 20 pins behind Barrett with 1382 scratch, an average of 230.33, and 1430 total to become the second woman in the top 8 in fourth place.

Rounding out the top 5 was Barrett’s compatriot and fellow PBA champion, Stuart Williams (above right), who slipped three spots with 1419. As the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14 (squad 9-14), Sin Li, Barrett and Williams (with his 1397 series in squad 14) would be automatically qualified for the finals if they don’t finish among the top 35 in the overall qualifying standings.

2016EBT09SyafiqRidhwan.jpg2016EBT09AndreaMoro.jpgIf any of the four would finish in the top 35, the automatic spot goes to the next qualifier in order.

Each of the three qualifying squads on Thursday were highlighted by a 300 game. 2012 52nd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup champion Syafiq Ridhwan (left) was the first to earn the bragging rights as he achieved perfection in the last game of squad 12 to finish the day in 19th place with 1366.

Andrea Moro (right) of Italy followed a 137 opening game in squad 13 with 266 and 300, but had to settle for 46th place with 1313, 19 pins below the cut line, after closing out with 176, 201 and 233.

2016EBT09NewHuiFen2.jpg2016EBT09DanielFransson.jpgSquad 13 was led by New Hui Fen (left) who became the third woman to win a squad in this year’s event after posting games of 234, 227, 215, 190, 216 and 234 for 1316 pinfall, an average of 219.33, and 1364 total. The Singaporean finished the day in 20th place overall.

Daniel Fransson (right) of Sweden, who won his first EBT title in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 earlier this season, had the third perfecto in game five of squad 14 to land in 18th place on 1367.

With 14 out of 20 squads completed, Federico Rossi of Italy is the man “on the bubble” in 35th place with 1332 or an average of 222.

Qualifying continues Friday, July 15, with squads 15, 16 and 17 scheduled to start at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2016EBT09SanMarinoOpenLogo_small.jpgThe Storm San Marino Open is the 9th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first out of three EBT “Gold” tournaments this season. The 12th edition will be held July 9-17 at 18-lane Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 62.050 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday, July 9, through Saturday, July 17, with the last qualifying squad 20 scheduled for 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). The qualifying winner will receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad scheduled to start at 10 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The top three women based on the final standings will receive 500, 350 and 200 Euro bonuses, respectively.

Total 48 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 19, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in the second round. Those 24 bowl another four games from scratch to cut to the top 10, who will join the top eight in a six-game round before the cut to the top 4.

The four finalists will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same “low man out” format applies, with pinfall carrying over. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

Immediately following the 12th San Marino Open is the 9th European Bowling Tour Masters, which will be contested on Monday, July 18, at Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Asian women set the pace at San Marino Open on Wednesday
England’s Williams, Morgan set the tone on Day 4 Qualifying
Markus Jansson cracks 1400-bar at San Marino Open
Alessandro Santu leads Storm San Marino Open after four squads
Andrea Mangiacotti sets the pace at Storm San Marino Open
12th Storm San Marino Open – Tournament Preview
Dom Barrett defeats Jesper Svensson to successfully defend his title in San Marino
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women

11th Storm San Marino Open – Qualifying Standings after Squad 14/20

Top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals.

300 Games (3) – Syafiq Ridhwan, Andrea Moro and Daniel Fransson.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.