Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Richard Teece wins his third EBT title in Polish Open

Richard Teece wins his third EBT title in Polish Open


2016EBT11RichardTeece4.jpgRichard Teece won his third European Bowling Tour title and became the first multiple champion on the 2016 EBT when he defeated Aidas Daniunas of Lithuania and Finland’s Jari Ratia in the final round over two games total pins to walk away the winner in the Polish Open presented by Roto Grip Sunday at Sky Bowling in Wroclaw.

Teece (above and left), who won his first EBT title one year and five days ago in the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open and the second title last month in the Odense International, averaged over 230 in the Round of 20, including high games of 279 and 266, to earn the No. 1 seed for the three-player group finals.

2016EBT11JariRatia.jpgRichard, whose brother Ray won his first EBT title in the Brunswick Madrid Challenge, also in June, carried the momentum into semi-final round in which he used a 297 second game to eliminate Danes Thomas Larsen and Tim Stampe, 502-451-340.

Ratia (right) rolled games of 244 and 220 to escape with a five-pin win over 2015 EBT women’s point ranking winner, Jenny Wegner of Sweden, and her compatriot Emanuel Jonsson, 464-459-408.

2016EBT11AidasDaniunas.jpgIn the third group, Daniunas (left) posted 236 and 229 to hold off 13-time EBT titlist Osku Palermaa of Finland and Francois Louw of South Africa, 465-456-382. The three group leader advanced to the final showdown.

Teece started the final two-game round with 221 and took a 36-pin lead over Daniunas (185) with Ratia (173) further 12 pins behind the Lithuanian. The Englishman wrapped up the title with another 229 game for a 450-401-372 win.

Teece received the 7.000 Euro top prize, Daniunas earned 4.500 Euro for second place and Ratia pocketed 3.000 Euro for third place.

2015EBT09PolishOpenLogo.jpgThe Roto Grip Polish Open was the 11th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the last of four EBT “Silver” tournaments this season. The inaugural Polish Open last year was conducted as “satellite” tournament. The second edition was held from July 25-31 at 24-lane Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland, host of the 2012 and 2014 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cups.

Compared to last year, the prize fund increased by 10.200 Euro to total 40.200 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.500 to the runner-up and 3.000 to the third place finisher. Last-to-cash payout (40th place) was 400 Euro.

Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) ran from July 25-30 and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad. Women received 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

Like last year, the 2016 Polish Open presented by Roto Grip featured a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.435ml oil volume.

Total 40 players qualified for the finals. The top 10 qualifiers earned two byes, while qualifiers 11-20 got a first-round bye. The remaining 20 players advanced to the first of two four-game rounds which trimmed the field to 30 and then 20 players.< Those 20 bowled a five-game round before the cut to the top 9, who were split into three groups (Group 1: 1, 6 and 7; Group 2: 2, 5 and 8; Group 3: 3, 4 and 9). In each group the athletes bowled two games with the total pinfall to determine the positions. The three group leaders advanced to the final round. The runner-ups were ranked 4th to 6th and the second-runner-ups were ranked 7th to 9th according to their seeding after Round Three. The three remaining players bowled for the title using the same two games total pins format. 2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

The EBT takes a seven-week break before heading to Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands for the Chandra Open 2016 Sept. 11-18, 2016.

Related Articles

Thomas Larsen wins qualifying in Polish Open
Larsen, Ratia, Teece move to the top in Wroclaw
Markus Bergendorff takes over lead in Polish Open qualifying
Chris Sloan, Jenny Wegner crack the top 5 at Polish Open
South Africa’s Francois Louw moves into second place in Poland
Germany’s Laura Beuthner takes early lead in Polish Open
Polish Open presented by Roto Grip – Tournament Preview
Carsten Warming Hansen wins his first EBT title in 2015 Roto Grip Polish Open
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women


L-R Aidas Daniunas (2nd), champion Richard Teece and Jari Ratia (3rd).

2016 Polish Open – Final Round Five (Final Standings)

Two-game round decided by total pinfall

2016 Polish Open – Final Round Four

Two-game round decided by total pinfall; group leaders advance to the final round, runner-ups will be ranked 4th to 6th and second-runner-ups will be ranked 7th to 9th according to their seeding after Round Three

2016 Polish Open – Places 1-40 (Cashers)

1. Richard Teece, England, 7.000 Euro
2. Aidas Daniunas, Lithuania, 4.500 Euro
3. Jari Ratia, Finland, 3.000 Euro
4. Jenny Wegner, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
5. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 1.500 Euro
6. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 1.500 Euro
7. Francois Louw, South Africa, 1.200 Euro
8. Tim Stampe, Denmark, 1.200 Euro
9. Emanuel Jonsson, Sweden, 1.200 Euro
10. Pascal Winternheimer, Germany, 700 Euro
11. Paul Moor, England, 700 Euro
12. Markus Bergendorff, Denmark, 700 Euro
13. Alessandro Silletti, Poland, 700 Euro
14. Ramon Hilferink, Netherlands, 700 Euro
15. Mikael Roos, Sweden, 700 Euro
16. Christopher Sloan, Ireland, 700 Euro
17. Robert Lindberg, Sweden, 700 Euro
18. Laura Beuthner, Germany, 700 Euro
19. Sven Garbotz, Germany, 700 Euro
20. Maria Persson, Sweden, 700 Euro
21. Patrick Meka, Netherlands, 500 Euro
22. Vanessa Timter, Germany, 500 Euro
23. Mik Stampe, Denmark, 500 Euro
24. Peter Hellstrøm, Sweden, 500 Euro
25. Jaroslav Lorenc, Czech Republic, 500 Euro
26. Martin Paulsson, Sweden, 500 Euro
27. Tomasz Janicki, Poland, 500 Euro
28. Jonas Hofling, Sweden, 500 Euro
29. Phillip Gladigau, Germany, 500 Euro
30. Bodo Konieczny, Germany, 500 Euro
31. Andreas Hernitschek, Germany, 400 Euro
32. Linas Sasnauskas, Lithuania, 400 Euro
33. Lucy Charezińska, Poland, 400 Euro
34. Lars Pöhler, Germany, 400 Euro
35. Maxime de Rooij, Germany, 400 Euro
36. Jonas Olsson, Sweden, 400 Euro
37. Sandro Brandt, Germany, 400 Euro
38. Emil Polanisz, Poland, 400 Euro
39. Patryk Preus, Poland, 400 Euro
40. Vladimir Merkovsky, Slovakia, 400 Euro

2016 Polish Open – Final Round Three

Top 9 advance to the group finals; places 10-20 finish in 10th to 20th place, earn 700 Euro.

2016 Polish Open – Final Round Two

Top 10 advance to the third round; places 11-20 finish in 11st to 30th place, earn 500 Euro.

2016 Polish Open – Final Round One

Top 10 advance to the second round; places 11-20 finish in 31st to 40th place, earn 400 Euro.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.