Thomas Larsen wins qualifying in Polish Open


    2016 European Bowling Tour #11

    Dane averaged 245 to lead the 108-player field from 14 countries; 40 players advance to the finals on Sunday, July 31



    2016EBT11JariRatia.jpg 2015PBAPascalWinternheimer.jpg Thomas Larsen of Denmark won the qualifying of the Polish Open presented by Roto Grip and leads 40 players from the 108-player field from 14 countries into the finals on Sunday, July 31, at Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Larsen (pictured above), who toppled 1470 pins, an average of 245 for six games, in the 11th qualifying squad, remained unchallenged on the final qualifying day. Jari Ratia (left) of Finland remained in second place with 1464, including the tournament's lone 300 game so far.

    Two players of Saturday's squads cracked the top 10, who receive two byes for the finals. German national team member Pascal Winternheimer (above right) led squad 14 with 1445 total and an average of 240.82 to jump into third place. Winternheimer had games of 277, 197, 289, 235, 221 and 226.

    2016EBT11AidasDaniunas.jpg 2016EBT11LauraBeuthner2.jpg In the penultimate squad 15, Aidas Daniunas (left) of Lithuania posted games of 204 206, 288, 235, 268 and 233 to leap into fourth place with 1434 and an average of 239.

    Two-time EBT titlist Richard Teece of England, who is trying to improve on a third place finish last year, slipped to fifth place with 1406 with Danish two-hander Markus Bergendorff (left) in sixth place with 1404.

    Current women's point ranking leader Laura Beuthner (right) of Germany was the best of 18 women in the field and the lone in the top 10 in seventh place with 1402, including eight pins handicap each game.

    2016EBT11FrancoisLouw2.jpg 2016EBT11MikaelRoos.jpg Rounding out the top 10 were Francois Louw of South Africa (left; 1363), Irish two-hander Christopher Sloan (1357) and Mikael Roos of Sweden (right; 1340).

    Robert Lindberg of Sweden led the last squad 16 with 1323 total, including five games between 265 and 201 and a low last game of 147, to make the first cut in 13th place. Andreas Hernitschek of Germany was the cut for 30th place with 1289 or an average of 214.83.

    The top 30 will be joined in the finals by the top 4 of squads 4 to 7, the leaders of the Turbo Game 5 and 6 competition and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad, which concluded qualifying Saturday night.



    The top 4 of the Desperado Squad: L-R Maria Persson, Sweden; Patryk Preus, Poland; Ramon Hilferink; Netherlands; and Alessandro Silletti, Poland.


    2015EBT09PolishOpenLogo.jpg The Roto Grip Polish Open is the 11th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the last of four EBT "Silver" tournaments this season. The inaugural Polish Open last year was conducted as "satellite" tournament. The second edition will be held from July 25-31 at 24-lane Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland, host of the 2012 and 2014 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cups.

    The prize fund increased by 10.200 Euro to total 40.200 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.500 to the runner-up and 3.000 to the third place finisher. Last-to-cash payout (40th place) is 400 Euro.

    Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) ran from July 25-30 and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Like last year, the 2016 Polish Open presented by Roto Grip features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.435ml oil volume.

    Total 40 players qualified for the finals. The top 10 qualifiers earn two byes, while qualifiers 11-20 get a first-round bye. The remaining 20 players advance to the first of two four-game rounds which will trim the field to 30 and then 20 players.<

    Those 20 bowl a five-game round to cut to the top 9, who will be split into three groups (Group 1: 1, 6 and 7; Group 2: 2, 5 and 8; Group 3: 3, 4 and 9).

    In each group the athletes will bowl two games with the total pinfall to determine the positions. The three group leaders will advance to the finals. The runner-ups will be ranked 4th to 6th according to the seeding after round three, while the second-runner-ups will be ranked 7th to 9th.

    The three remaining players will bowl for the title using the same two games total pins format.

    2016EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", four "Silver" and six "Satellite" events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.


    Related Articles

    Larsen, Ratia, Teece move to the top in Wroclaw
    Markus Bergendorff takes over lead in Polish Open qualifying
    Chris Sloan, Jenny Wegner crack the top 5 at Polish Open
    South Africa's Francois Louw moves into second place in Poland
    Germany's Laura Beuthner takes early lead in Polish Open
    Polish Open presented by Roto Grip - Tournament Preview
    Carsten Warming Hansen wins his first EBT title in 2015 Roto Grip Polish Open
    2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2016 Polish Open - Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    Top 30 players from the qualifying standings, top four players from a separate leaderboard of squads 4-7 who are not among the top 30 (places 31-34), one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings (places 35&36), and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) advance to Sunday's finals.

    300 games (1) - Jari Ratia.