Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Sin Li Jane wins qualifying at 12th Storm San Marino Open

Sin Li Jane wins qualifying at 12th Storm San Marino Open


2016EBT09SinLiJane4.jpgSin Li Jane of Malaysia held onto the lead at the Storm San Marino Open en route to win the qualifying and to earn a 1.000 Euro bonus Saturday at Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle. Sin Li, who was the best of 29 women in the 205-player field from 26 countries, averaged 241.83 for six games and received 48 pins handicap for 1499 total.

By virtue of finishing in the top 8, the Malaysian (pictured above) received two byes for Sunday’s finals. Three players from Saturday’s squads 18 and 19 moved into the top 8.

2016EBT09JuhaniTonteri2.jpg2016EBT09MartinLarsen.jpgJuhani Tonteri (left) of Finland made a run at the lead in squad 18 but fell 25 pins short to take second place with 1474 and the field-best 245.67 average. Tonteri, who won his lone European Bowling Tour title in the 2015 Aalborg International, had games of 235, 279, 199, 269, 268 and 224.

Eight-time EBT champion Martin Larsen (right) led squad 19 with 1461, including games of 232, 220, 265, 257, 243 and 244, to leap into fourth place. Lucas Legnani of Argentina was 39 pins behind Larsen with 1422, including a pair of 258 games, to secure eighth place.

Four-time EBT titlist, Thomas Larsen of Denmark led the last squad 20 with 1411 but missed the top 8 by 11 pins finishing in 11th place. Qualifiers 9 to 16 get a first-round bye.

2016EBT09JeroenVanGeel.jpg2016EBT09ZulmazranZulkifli.jpgSquad 18 and 19 were also highlighted by perfect games, which brought the number of 300 games to six. Jeroen van Geel (left), Netherlands, who won his first EBT title at the 2015 Odense International, posted his perfecto in the third game of squad 18, finishing with 1377 en route to make the cut in 23rd place.

Malaysia’s Zulmazran Zulkifli (right) shot 300 in game 3 of squad 19, but managed only 1328 and missed the cut in 59th place. His fellow countrywoman Shalin Zulkifli (no relation) took the 35th and last place to advance from the overall leaderboard with 1359 or an average of 226.50, including handicap.

The top 35 players will be joined in the finals by another 13 players who advanced from squads 1-4, 5-8, 9-14 and the Desperado Squad.

2016EBT09SanMarinoOpenLogo_small.jpgThe Storm San Marino Open is the 9th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first out of three EBT “Gold” tournaments this season. The 12th edition will be held July 9-17 at 18-lane Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 62.050 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday, July 9, through Saturday, July 17, and concluded with the Desperado Squad. The qualifying winner received a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The top three women based on the final standings will receive 500, 350 and 200 Euro bonuses, respectively.

Total 48 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, July 19, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in the second round. Those 24 bowl another four games from scratch to cut to the top 10, who will join the top eight in a six-game round before the cut to the top 4.

The four finalists will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same “low man out” format applies, with pinfall carrying over. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

Immediately following the 12th San Marino Open is the 9th European Bowling Tour Masters, which will be contested on Monday, July 18, at Rose’n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Four players crack the top 10 on penultimate qualifying day in San Marino
Malaysia’s Sin Li Jane shoots into lead in San Marino
Asian women set the pace at San Marino Open on Wednesday
England’s Williams, Morgan set the tone on Day 4 Qualifying
Markus Jansson cracks 1400-bar at San Marino Open
Alessandro Santu leads Storm San Marino Open after four squads
Andrea Mangiacotti sets the pace at Storm San Marino Open
12th Storm San Marino Open – Tournament Preview
Dom Barrett defeats Jesper Svensson to successfully defend his title in San Marino
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women

12th Storm San Marino Open – Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

Top 35 qualifiers plus the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 13-14 (places 36-39), the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 11-12 (places 40-42), the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 9-10 (places 43-45) and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad (places 46-48) will advance to the finals.

300 Games (6) – Syafiq Ridhwan, Andrea Moro, Daniel Fransson, Carsten Warming Hansen, Jeroen van Geel, Zulmazran Zulkifli.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.