Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA News » Wichita State’s Sydney Brummett receives 2016 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship

Wichita State’s Sydney Brummett receives 2016 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship


2016WeluScholarshipSydneyBrummett2.jpgThe Professional Bowlers Association has announced that Wichita State University Shocker bowling star Sydney Brummett of Fort Wayne, Ind., is the winner of the 2016 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Award.

Brummett, entering her junior year majoring in health science/pre-nursing, was a member of the second-place 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships women’s team. Her Shockers women’s team earned its berth in the ITC Championship by winning the 2016 sectional qualifier.

Named to four all-tournament teams during the 2015-16 season, the two-time Junior Team USA member was a 2015-16 National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association first team All-American after earning second team honors and rookie of the year for the 2014-15 season.

Among her other bowling accomplishments are Masters gold, Team silver and Trios silver medals in the Titel, a 17th-place finish in the 2016 USBC Queens and a third-place finish in the 2015 Junior Gold Championships. The 20-year-old right hander also is a three-time Indiana Female Bowler of the Year.

“I’m very thankful to receive the Billy Welu Scholarship because it will heavily affect not just my academic career in nursing by helping me continue my education at Wichita State, but also help me grow myself in the sport of bowling,” she said.

“My experience at Wichita State has allowed me the opportunity to grow as an athlete and as a person. Going forward I hope to reach new goals in the sport by competing internationally and on the PWBA Tour.”

The Fort Wayne, Ind. native has a 3.45 grade point average and has been an academic All-American since 2014.

She has been an active volunteer for youth bowling serving as an Indiana State USBC youth board member and vice president, and as chairperson of the organization’s food drive committee. She also is an active advocate for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and breast cancer awareness initiatives in her hometown.

The $1,000 scholarship award was established to annually recognize a college student who combines outstanding bowling talents with academic excellence.

Welu, who passed away in 1974, was best known for his expert analysis alongside legendary ABC broadcaster and PBA Hall of Famer Chris Schenkel on the “Pro Bowlers Tour” series. Welu was a two-time PBA Tour champion and a member of the PBA Hall of Fame’s inaugural induction class in 1975.

Billy Welu Scholarship Award Winners

2016 – Sydney Brummett (Wichita State)
2015 – Ramon Hilferink (Webber International)
2014 – Melanie Hannon (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2013 – Katie Thornton (Webber International)
2012 – Danielle McEwan (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2011 – Kristina Frahm (Maryland Eastern Shore)
2010 – Kim Yioulos (Pikeville)
2009 – Elizabeth Seibel (Penn State)
2008 – Heather D’Errico (Robert Morris-Illinois)
2007 – Ricki Williams (Wichita State)
2006 – Jerrod Reece (Creighton University)
2005 – Mandy Pezzano (U of Penn)
2004 – Holly Pusok (University of Houston)
2003 – Robby Spigner (Indiana University)
2002 – N/A
2001 – Jennie Snoddy (Notre Dame College of Ohio)
2000 – Jackie Edwards (Cal State-Fresno)
1999 – Steven Svetlik (University of Illinois-Chicago)
1998 – Nicholas Hoagland (Indiana University)
1997 – Preston Brunswig (Wichita State)
1996 – Brenda Dosher (University of Southern Indiana)
1995 – Michael Lamont (University of Florida)
1994 – Joe Ciccone (Erie Community College)
1993 – N/A
1992 – Stephen Dale Jr. (Northeastern University)
1991 – Kari Murph (Morehead State)
1990 – Kimberly Berke (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
1989 – Ronni Shehorn (San Jose State)
1988 – Julie Powell (University of Michigan)

1987 – N/A
1986 – Paul Kaib (University of Florida)
1985 – Curt Pezzano (University of Miami (Fla)
1984 – Michelle Mullen (University of Illinois)
1983 – Jeri Edwards (Penn State)
1982 – Patricia Bowie (Arizona State)

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.