Thomas Larsen shoots into lead in Odense International


    2013 European Bowling Tour #7

    Dane leads four-player Squad 8 with 1442 total; Mik Stampe rolls first 300 game of the tournament and moves into third place; Charlotte Leen takes 24th place with 1242

    2013EBT01ThomasLarsen2.jpg2013EBT04MikStampe.jpgJust four players took to the lanes at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark, Wednesday in the eighth qualifying squad (squad 9 was cancelled) including Danish national team members Thomas Larsen and Mik Stampe and they took full advantage.

    Larsen (pictured left), a three-time European Bowling Tour champion, fired games of 216, 237, 238, 259, 213 and 279 to overtake the qualifying lead with 1442 and an average of 240.33. Stampe (right) finished his six-game series with the tournament's first 300 game for 1370 (228.33) en route to jump into third place.

    2013EBT04KamillaKjeldsen2.jpgPrevious leader Kamilla Kjeldsen (left), Denmark, slipped to second place and is the best of 16 women in the 58-player field from Germany, Sweden and Denmark so far with 1378 total including 48 pins women's handicap.

    Charlotte Leen posted a 1242 series including handicap Wednesday to hold the 24th and last place to advance to Sunday's finals as qualifying has surpassed the halfway mark. The fourth player, Tim Stampe, Denmark, had to settle for 57th place with 1051.

    Qualifying continues Thursday. May 30, with Squads 10 & 11 scheduled for 5 and 8 p.m. CEST.

    The Odense International is the seventh stop of the 2013 European Bowling Tour and the second out of seven EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from May 26 through June 2 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark and offers total prize fund of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.500 to the third place finisher.

    The qualifying of the Odense International 2013 (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday May 26 through Saturday, June 1 with the last qualifying squad 16 scheduled for 6 p.m. CEST.

    Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    The Odense International 2013 features a 38 feet lane conditioning pattern with 24.6ml oil volume.

    A total of 32 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, June 2 - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3 and 4-7 which are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top two players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 32 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will determine the champion in seven games round robin match play. Players receive 30 pins bonus for each win in match play and 15 for a tie. The player with the highest 17-game total including bonus pins and handicap will be declared the winner.

    2013EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2013 European Bowling Tour consists of 19 tournaments in 13 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and seven Satellite events.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament such as the Odense International gets 50 ranking points.

    The top 12 men and the top 12 women at the end of the 2013 season qualify for the seventh EBT Masters to be held March 3, 2014 at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands immediately following the EBT Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014.


    Related Articles

    No changes atop the leaderboard at Odense International in Tuesday's Squads 6 & 7
    Kamilla Kjeldsen takes over qualifying lead in Odense International
    Frederik Øhrgaard atop the leaderboard at Odense International in Tuesday's Squads 6 & 7
    2013 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions, Men's and Women's Ranking Winners
    2013 EBT Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2013 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 9/16