Paul Moor wins his 13th career European Bowling Tour title in Catania


    2013 European Bowling Tour #17

    Englishman becomes the first multiple winner on the 2013 Tour and ties Finn Osku Palermaa for first place on the all-time career EBT title list


    Paul Moor of England won his 13th career European Bowling Tour title in the inaugural Brunswick Etna Open Sunday at Bowling La Plaja in Catania, Italy. In the final round robin match play round, Moor beat out Robert Andersson, Sweden; Ronnie Russell, United States; and Giovanni Conti, Italy, to earn the 6.000 Euro top prize.

    L-R Andersson, Moor, Russell and Conti.

    The three-time European Bowling Tour point ranking leader (2004-06) became the first multiple winner on the 2013 Tour and tied Osku Palermaa, Finland, for most EBT titles.

    2013EBT17EtnaOpenLogo_small.jpg The Brunswick Etna Open, a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour, was the 17th stop and the penultimate of seven EBT "Satellite" events this season. The tournament was held from Oct. 12-20, 2013 at 20-lane Bowling La Plaja in Catania, Italy.

    The Etna Open offered total prize fund to 28.600 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.000 Euro to the runner-up and 2.000 and 1.500 Euro to the third and fourth-place finishers, respectively.

    108 players, 99 men and nine women, from 12 countries participated in the qualifying, which ran from Oct. 12-19. Women received 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 48 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, Oct. 20. The top eight qualifiers received two byes. The remaining 40 players bowled four games scratch to cut to the top 20, who bowled further four games with half of the pinfall from round 1 carried forward.

    The top 8 and the top 8 qualifiers were seeded into four groups of four. The eliminator-format round featured three two-game rounds. All four players bowled the opening round, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applied.

    The remaining four players determined the champion in three games round robin match play (20 pins bonus per win, 10 for a tie; additional 10 pins bonus for each 250-plus game).

    The player with the highest three-game total including bonus pin earned the EBT title, 50 ranking points and the 6.000 Euro top prize.

    2013EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2013 European Bowling Tour consists of 19 stops in 13 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and seven Satellite tournaments.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament such as the Brunswick Etna Open gets 50 ranking points.

    The top 12 men and the top 12 women at the end of the 2013 season qualify for the seventh EBT Masters to be held March 3, 2014 at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands immediately following the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014.

    The 2013 European Bowling Tour takes a two-week break commencing Nov. 2-10 with the 2nd Florence Ebonite International, an EBT Satellite event, at Crazy Bowling in Florence, Italy. The Tour will conclude with the 125.000 Euro Qatar Bowling Open, an EBT Platinum event, from Dec. 4-10 at the Qatar Bowling Center in Doha.


    Related Articles

    2013 European Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions
    2013 EBT Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Brunswick Etna Open - Round Robin Match Play (Final Standings)


    Places 5-48 (cashers)

    5. Mark Spiteri, Malta, 800 Euro
    6. Neil Sullivan, Malta, 800 Euro
    7. Giada Di Martino, Italy, 800 Euro
    8. Justin Caruana Scicluna, Malta, 800 Euro
    9. Jeroen van Geel, Netherlands, 650 Euro
    10. Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 650 Euro
    11. Annalisa Balzano, Italy, 650 Euro
    12. Daniele Miceli, Italy, 650 Euro
    13. Salvatore Spampinato, Italy, 500 Euro
    14. Kenneth Arpa, Malta, 500 Euro
    15. Brian Valenta, United States, 500 Euro
    16. Filippo Basile, Italy, 500 Euro
    17. Francesco Bellomonte, Italy, 325 Euro
    18. Giancarlo Ragusa, Belgium, 325 Euro
    19. Giuseppe Frascati, Italy, 325 Euro
    20. Viktor Dementiev, Ukraine, 325 Euro
    21. Demetrio Frascati, Italy, 325 Euro
    22. Antonio Caivano, Italy, 325 Euro
    23. Tanner Spacey, United States, 325 Euro
    24. Tommaso Radi, Italy, 325 Euro
    25. Dennis Mercieca, Malta, 325 Euro
    26. Viacheslav Oseredko, Ukraine, 325 Euro
    27. Agata Colletta, Italy, 325 Euro
    28. Mark Tunnicliffe, Wales, 325 Euro
    29. Salvo La Spina, Italy, 200 Euro
    30. Lisanne Breeschoten, Netherlands, 200 Euro
    31. Konstantin Kuznetsov, Russia, 200 Euro
    32. Domenico Maddaloni, Italy, 200 Euro
    33. Salvatore Polizzotto, Italy, 200 Euro
    34. Giorgio Sarta, Italy, 200 Euro
    35. Mark Muscat, Malta, 200 Euro
    36. Carmelo Musumeci, Italy, 200 Euro
    37. Robertop Pilotti, Italy, 200 Euro
    38. Cosimo Calabrese, Italy, 200 Euro
    39. Francesco Morabito, Italy, 200 Euro
    40. Giuseppe Caruso, Italy, 200 Euro
    41. Rankin Luke Camilleri, Malta, 200 Euro
    42. Fabrizio Randazzo, Italy, 200 Euro
    43. Giovanni Massimino, Italy, 200 Euro
    44. Paco Rodríguez, Spain, 200 Euro
    45. Santino Mancuso, Italy, 200 Euro
    46. Philippe Vancell, Malta, 200 Euro
    47. Paul Baldacchino, Malta, 200 Euro
    48. Aldino Tedone, Italy, 200 Euro


    Eliminator Round

    The lowest-scoring player in each round was eliminated. The group winners advanced to the Round Robin Match Play finals.



    Final Round Two

    The top 8 advanced to the Eliminator Round.



    Final Round One

    The top 20 advanced to the second round with 50% per cent of the pinfall carried forward.



    Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 36 qualifyiers plus the top 2 each from a separate standing of the squads conducted on Oct. 15 (places 37-38), Oct. 14 (places 39-40), Oct. 13 (places 41-42), Oct. 12 (places 43-44) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 45-48) advance to the finals. The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes.