Squad 2 leaders Świtalski, Zarzycki pace opening day at 8th International Wroclaw Open


    2014 European Bowling Tour #2

    Michał Świtalski and Michał Zarzycki paced a field of 24 bowlers on the opening day of qualifying in the 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Świtalski and Zarzycki led the second of three squads on Wednesday with 1335 and 1306 total, respectively. Świtalski had games of 215, 237, 210, 222, 238 and 213, an average of 222.50 for six games to take the early lead with Zarzycki in second place behind games of 209, 231, 224, 202, 225 and 215 (217.67 ave.).

    Third place belonged to World and European Champion, Joonas Jehkinen of Finland, who led Squad 3 with 1277 (212.83) including a 269 final game. Squad 1 leader Paweł Bielski, Poland, finished the day in fourth place with 1271. Bielski had another 1271 series in Squad 2, but his first series still stands due to the higher last game.

    Rounding out the top 5 was tournament organizer Piotr Zjawiony with 1220. Qualifying continues Thursday, February 13, with Squads 4-7 scheduled to start at 10 a.m., 1.30, 5 and 8.30 p.m. CET.

    2014EBT02IWOLogo_small.jpg The 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer (IWO) is the second stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the first of nine EBT "Satellite" events, the lowest of four EBT categories. The tournament will be held from Wednesday, Feb. 12 through Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014 at bowling center Galeria Rozrywki Miraz, a 10-laner in Wroclaw, Poland.

    As in the past three years, participants in the IWO will compete for total prize money of 26.000 Euro with 4.250 Euro going to the winner, 2.750 Euro to the runner-up and 2.100 and 1.800 Euro to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 40th place (250 Euro).

    Qualifying (6 games, unlimited re-entries) runs through Saturday, Feb. 15, and ends with Squad 17 scheduled to start at 8.30 p.m. CET. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The tournament will be contested on a 39-ft. lane conditioning pattern with 23.28ml volume oil total.

    The top 40 players from the overall qualifying standings will advance to the finals on Sunday Feb. 16. Qualifying pinfall carries over. The finalists will be divided into two squads (places 21-40 and 1-20), who will bowl a four-game game block after which the field will be cut to the top 20.

    Those 20 will bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who advance to seven games of round robin match play. All pinfall carries over into round robin, where bowlers earn 20 bonus pins per win, 10 for a tie, and 5 bonus pins for each game between 250 and 300. The top 4 will advance to the stepladder finals.

    The No. 4 seed bowls the No. 3 seed, the winner takes on the No. 2 seed and the winner of that match earns the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title. The opening match and the semifinal match will be decided in one game, while the championship match features two games decided by total pinfall.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 21 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    2014 European Bowling Tour commences with two tournaments sponsored by Hammer
    Anže Grabrijan wins dramatic finale at 7th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    8th International Wroclaw Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 3/17