Dan Østergaard-Poulsen paces opening day in Odense International 2014


    2014 European Bowling Tour #8

    Dane lead field of 21 players after 3 of 16 squads with 1381; Østergaard and compatriot Jan Andersen are qualified for Sunday's finals

    2014EBT08DanOstergaard.jpgA field of 21 players from Denmark, Sweden and Poland kicked off the Odense International 2014, a European Bowling Tour "Satellite" event, Sunday at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Dan Østergaard-Poulsen (pictured left), Denmark, finished his six-game series in Squad 2 with 279 and 267 to pace the field after three of 16 qualifying squads with 1381 and an average of 230.17.

    Trailing Østergaard by 80 pins in this squad was his compatriot Jan Andersen, who was the only other player on the opening day to surpass the 1300-mark with 1301.

    2014EBT08TrineSimonsen.jpgIn case Østergaard and Andersen they will drop out of the top out of the top 24 during the rest of the qualifying, they will advance to Sunday's finals by virtue of leading the standings of Squads 1-3.

    Danish coach Trine Simonsen (right), who topped the opening squad with 1282, including 48 pins women's handicap, sits in third place. Lars Høberg, Denmark, was fourth with 1254.

    2014EBT08JimmyMortensen.jpgRounding out the top five was the best foreign bowler, Janusz Pietraszek of Poland, who chalked up 1243 thanks to a final 267 game.

    Danish national team member Jimmy Mortensen (left), who led the four players of Squad 3 with 1148, is currently in ninth place with his high series of 1213.

    Qualifying continues Monday, May 26, with Squads 4 & 5 scheduled for 5 and 8 p.m. CEST.

    The Odense International 2014 is the eighth stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from Sunday, May 25, through Sunday, June 1 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    2014EBT08OilPattern.jpg Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 25, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2014 features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.166ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round the highest seeded player meets the lowest seeded player, the second-highest takes on the second-lowest and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2014 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 3/16

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.