Three players crack the top 8 in Squad 3 at Chandra Open 2014


    2014 European Bowling Tour #14

    Squad leader Mark Jacobs (NED) moves into fourth place with 1298; Jeroen van Geel (NED) continues to lead the 65-player field with 1411; score to make the cut in 30th place is 1178 (196.33)

    2014EBT14MarkJacobs.jpg2013EBT18JeroenvanGeel.jpgThree players, Dutchmen Mark Jacobs (pictured left) and Ron van den Bogaard and Dirk Dreyer of Germany, cracked the top 8 in the Chandra Open 2014 Monday evening at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    As in the 2013 event, Jacobs led Squad 3, this time with 1298, to leap into fourth place in the overall standings including 258 and 239 final games.

    Jeroen van Geel (right), Netherlands, continued to lead the field of 65 bowlers from four countries with 1411 and an average of 235.17. His fellow countrywoman Priscilla Maaswinkel (below left) remained in second place with 1368 including eight pins women's handicap each game.

    2014EBT14PriscillaMaaswinkel.jpgImageJacobs pushed Xavier Milet of Belgium to fifth place with 1289. Dutch Ron van den Bogaard was next to Jacobs in Squad 3 with 1283 to leap into sixth place. The top 6 after Tuesday's Squad 4 will earn automatic berths into Sunday's finals.

    Jord van Weeren, Netherlands, fell two spots to seventh place with 1270. Dirk Dreyer (right) of Germany, who tied Van Weeren at 1270, was seeded eighth due to the lower last game (239 to 209 in Van Weeren's favor). Dreyer's series included a 278 in game three, the highest game of the tournament so far. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye for the finals at the end of the qualifying.

    Rounding out the top 30, who will qualify for the finals, are Tanner Spacey, United States, in 29th place with 1181 and Jonathan Cools, Belgium, in 30th place with 1178 and an average of 196.33.

    After the first day of qualifying, Jeffrey van de Wakker, Netherlands, was the player on the cut line in 30th place with 1119 and an average of 186.50. Qualifying continues on Tuesday, September 16, with Squad 4 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

    The Chandra Open 2014 is the 14th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the sixth out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 14-21 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

    The Chandra Open offers total prize fund of 25.600 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner and 3.000 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 2.000 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 300 Euro.

    The Chandra Open features a 38 feet lane conditioning pattern with 26.45ml volume oil total.

    Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 14, through Saturday, Sept. 20, with the final Squad 13 scheduled for 6 p.m., and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m.

    Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

    Total of 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 21, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 (Sept. 14-16), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.

    The remaining 32 players bowl four games starting from scratch with half of the field advancing to the second round. The top 16 from Round One and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round starting from scratch to cut to the top 12.

    Those twelve bowl six games with the pinfall from Round Two being carried forward. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap becomes the champion.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling Chamartín in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.



    Related Articles

    Jeroen van Geel, Priscilla Maaswinkel take early lead in Chandra Open 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    Chandra Open 2014 - Standings after Qualifying Squad 3/13

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-4 and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals. Top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.