Jord van Weeren shoots 243 triplicate to lead Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    2015 European Bowling Tour #3

    Dutch bowler averages 248.50 in Wednesday's Squad 5 to lead the 97-player field with 1491; Peter Smits (NED) rolls the second perfecto of the tournament; No. 36 score to beat to advance is 1252 (208.67 average)

    2015EBT03JordvanWeeren2.jpg 2015EBT03HumbertoVazquez2.jpgJord van Weeren, Netherlands, averaged 248.50 and posted a 1491 series in the fifth qualifying squad on Wednesday evening at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands, to shoot into the qualifying lead in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015.

    Van Weeren, who was in third place with 1410 including the tournament's first 300 game, started his re-entry with games of 256, 247 and 259 before he closed out the series with a 243 triplicate. However, this not a tournament record as Brian Voss, United States, had a 256 triplicate in last year's event.

    Van Weeren overtook previous leader Humberto Vazquez (above right) by 31 pins. The Mexican slipped to second place with 1460 and is followed by Jeffrey van de Wakker, Netherlands, with 1429.

    2015EBT03PeterSmits.jpg2015EBT03AlejandroCruz.jpgPeter Smits (left), Netherlands, rollercoastered into fourth place Wednesday. The Dutch national team member came out of the gates commandingly with 277 and 269¬ī, then suffered a 186 low game, but rebounded with the tournament's second perfecto before he closed out with another two 180 games for 1405, an average of 234.17.

    Squad 1 leader Gery Verbruggen of Belgium fell two spots to fifth place with 1396, while Mexican Alejandro Cruz (right) rounded out the top 6 with 1383 pins.

    The top 6 players after the first five squads will earn automatic berths into the finals if they don't finish qualifying in the top 36.

    2015EBT03AseretZetter.jpgIf any of the top six players finishes among the top 36, the automatic spot drops to the next players in the standings.

    Mexican women's national team member Aseret Zetter (left) was third in Squad 5 with 1348 total including handicap to become the top-ranked woman in the field in 13th place. Zetter hit 1300 on the nose, an average of 216.67 scratch.

    The qualifying cut raised to 1252 (208.67 average) set by Xavier Milet of Belgium. Qualifying continues on Thursday, February 12 with Squads 6, 7 and 8 scheduled to start at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. local time (CET).


    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 is the third event of the 2015 European Bowling Tour and the first of three "EBT Silver" events this season, the third highest of the four EBT categories.

    The HBST will be held from Sunday, February 8 through Sunday, February 15 at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 44.400 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.000 to the runner-up and 3.000 and 2.000 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 46th place (400 Euro). The qualifying leader gets a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, February 14 with the final qualifying Squad 14 scheduled for 6 p.m. CET followed by the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    A total of 46 players including the top 36 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 conducted Feb. 8-11 will advance to the finals. The top 6 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

    Players ranked 7 to 46 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the top six qualifiers (seeded 1-6) in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round four "lucky losers" (four highest third-place finishers) also advance.

    The field will be cut to 16, 8 and then four players, who determine the top 4 spots in the last eliminator round.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 18 tournaments in 14 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and nine "Satellite" events. All 18 tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 900.000 Euro (approx. 1.024 million U.S. Dollar).

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Mexico's Alejandro Cruz paces Squad 4, moves into top 6 in Tilburg, Netherlands
    Mexico's Humberto Vazquez moves to the top at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Gery Verbruggen tops Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 after opening day
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 - Tournament Preview
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 - Qualifying Standings after Squad 5/14

    The top 36 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals. The top 6 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.


    300 games (2) - Jord van Weeren, Peter Smits.

    Tie Rules (Qualifying)
    In case of a tie in the qualifying, "the highest positioned player will be the player scoring the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the lowest game. If a tie still exists, the highest positioned player will be the player with the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the two lowest games, etc."