Belgium's Marawan Aernoudt averages 238 to take the qualifying lead in Tilburg


    2016 European Bowling Tour #3

    Aernoudt rolls 1428 series in Squad 4 to overtake compatriot Jimmy Ravez by 23 pins; with 87 players in the books, the score to make the cut in 30th place is 1251



    Marawan Aernoudt (pictured above) of Belgium averaged 238 Tuesday evening at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands, to take the pole position in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 after the fourth of 14 qualifying squads.

    Aernoudt started his six-game block with games of 267, 236 and 245 for 748, and rebounded from a low game of 191 with 246 and 243 for 1428 total to overtake his compatriot Jimmy Ravez by 23 pins.

    2016EBT03BiancaWiekeraad2.jpg2016EBT03YouriFens2.jpgRavez, who led qualifying since squad 2 with 1405, slipped to second place and was followed by Bianca Wiekeraad (left), who is the best Dutch bowler and the best of 13 women in the 87-player field from Belgium, France, Germany and Netherlands with 1381, including 48 pins handicap.

    Youri Fens (right), a 19-year-old local bowler, who rolled back-to-back 300 games in squad 3 on Monday, slipped to fourth place with 1375.

    Rounding out the top 6 were Johnny Fronville of Belgium with 1363 and Johnny Spil, Netherlands, with distant 1326. The top 6 players after Wednesday's squad 5 will earn automatic berths. If any of the top 6 finishes among the top 30 in the overall standings, the automatic spot drops to the next player in the squad 1-5 standings.

    2016EBT03EllenJansen.jpgJeroen van der Heide and Bart van Beers were distant second and third in squad 3 with 1310 and 1296, to move into 9th and 11th place in the standings. Their fellow countrywoman Ellen Jansen (left) was the best woman with 1287 to leap into 13th place.

    With four of 14 qualifying squads completed, Simone Boonstra, Netherlands, holds the 30th and last place to advance from the overall qualifying standings with 1251 or an average of 208.50 with handicap.

    Qualifying continues on Wednesday, February 3 with Squad 5 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Time (CET).


    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 is the third event of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first of four "EBT Silver" events this season, the third highest of the four EBT categories.

    The HBST will be held from Sunday, February 8 through Sunday, January 31 through Sunday, February 7, at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands, and will be contested on a 41 foot oil pattern with 28.25 mL volume oil total.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 41.000 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.000 to the runner-up and 2.000 and 1.500 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 40th place (500 Euro). The qualifying leader and the winner of squad 6 each get a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, February 14 with the final qualifying Squad 14 scheduled for 6 p.m. CET followed by the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Total 40 players advance to the finals on Sunday, February 7, including the top 30 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 who are outside the top 30. The top 2 qualifiers will receive two byes, qualifiers 3-8 will earn a first-round bye.

    Players ranked 9 to 40 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the qualifiers 3-8 (seeded 1-6) in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round two "lucky losers" (the two highest third-place finishers) will also advance.

    The field will be cut to 16, 8 and then four players, who determine the top 4 places in the last eliminator round.

    2016EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", four "Silver" and six "Satellite" events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters February 27, 2017, at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    The 2016 European Bowling Tour commences with the 10th International Wroclaw Open, a "satellite" tournament, which will be held from Feb. 17-21 at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.


    Related Articles

    Dutch youngster Youri Fens rolls back-to-back 300 in Squad 3
    Belgian bowlers Ravez, Fronville, Claessens dominate opening day
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 - Tournament Preview
    Swede Markus Jansson shoots big last game to claim his first EBT title in HBST 2015
    2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 - Qualifying Standings after Squad 4/14

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad will advance to the finals; top 2 qualifiers will receive two byes, qualifiers 3-8 will earn a first-round bye.

    300 games - Youri Fens (2)