Sung Hee and Young Pyo add yet another gold medal in All Events at 21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships



    Artha Gading Bowling Center in Jakarta, Indonesia (Nov. 17-25, 2007)

    2007AICWomenAEYooSungHee.jpg Yoo Sung Hee (left) from Busan, Korea, claimed her fourth gold medal in as many events in the women's division at the 21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships in Jakarta, Indonesia. Sung Hee, who won the titles in Singles, Doubles and Team earned the title in All Events with 3778 18-game total and an average of 209.89.

    Her team mate Park Eun Sun was 162 pins behind to take the silver medal with 3616 (200.89). Bronze went to Ditas Red, Pasay City, 3611 (200.61).

    The top 3 were the sole players with a 200-plus average. The other players from Busan An Yu Ri and Jang Jee Hyang landed in fourth and fifth place, resp. Daisy Farolan of the host city Jakarta took the 16th and final qualifying post for the Masters event with 3271 or an average of 181.72.

    2007AICMenAEKimYoungPyo.jpg On the men's side Kim Young Pyo (right), Daegu, was able to weather a strong challenge by two-time ABT Tour Tournament of Champions winner Purvis Granger, Paranaque, to win his third gold medal in Men's All Events. Young Pyo, who also won the titles in Doubles and Team and finished 5th in Singles, totaled 3907 pins, an average of 217.07 over 18 games.

    Granger posted the highest six-game series of the entire championships with 1340 in the team event but fell 28 pins short to earn the silver medal in All Events with 3879 (215.50). Oh Young-Gi of Uiwang took the bronze medal with 3733. Malaysian national team member Zulmazran Zulkifli, Shah Alam, grabbed the 16th place and last place to advance to the Masters final with 3552 (197.33).

    Photos courtesy of Yap Kok Wee.

    Men's and Women's Singles

    Men's and Women's Doubles

    Men's and Women's Team

    21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships - Men's All Events


    The picture shows the 16 Masters finalists. Lee Tae Ju, Daegu (4th in All Events) has withdrawn from the Masters due to an injury on his bowling hand. He will be replaced by Jay Leon Guerrero, Tamuning (17th).

    L-R Back Row: Brian Manubusan (Dededo), Aaron Elliott (Tamuning), JD Castro (Tamuning), Oh Young (Uiwang), David Sitorus (Jakarta), Hengky Susanto (Jakarta), Benjamin Lim (Singapore), Mark Wong (Singapore).

    L-R Front Row: Lee Dong Hee (Pohang), Jay Leon Guerrero (Tamuning), Kim Young Pyo (Daegu), Kong Byoung Hee (Uiwang), Park Hee Jeong (Daegu), Purvis Granger (Paranaque), Zulmazlan Zulkifli (Shah Alam), and Michael Tsang (Victoria).


    21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championships - Women's All Events


    The picture shows the 16 Masters finalists.

    L-R Back Row: Lily Go (Jakarta), Chou Yueh Yun (Taipei), Cecilia Yap (Paranaque), Yap Seok Kim (Paranaque), Ditas Red (Pasay), Angeli Lao (Pasay), Jen Yu Nan (Taipei) and Daisy Farolan (Jakarta).

    L-R Front Row: Yoo Sung Hee (Busan), Gina Lim (Singapore), Ann Yu Ri (Busan), Teo Li Ying (Singapore), Jang Jee Hyang (Busan), Geraldine Ng (Singapore), Park Hun Sun (Busan) and Bernice Lim (Singapore).