Ghislaine van der Tol leads Extra Squad in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel


    2010 European Bowling Tour #2

    Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands (Feb. 7-14, 2010)

    2010EBT02GhislainevanderTol.jpgLast year, Ghislaine van der Tol (pictured left), Netherlands, won the women's rankings in the EBT Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament in Tilburg, Netherlands. On Wednesday evening the lefty put herself in a position to repeat the feat.

    Van der Tol led the extra squad (#14) with 1297 six-game total including 48 pins women's handicap to move into 7th place in the overall qualifying standings.

    2010EBT02MaartenPittens3.jpgHer compatriot Maarten Pittens (right) held on to the lead with 1329 and an average of 221.50. Lisanne Breeschoten, Netherlands, is the best of four women in the top 10 in second place with 1326.

    Day 1 leader Dirk Baade, Germany, is still in third place with 1319. He is followed by Nicole Sanders, Netherlands, in 4th with 1314, Hong Kong's Eric Tseng in 5th with 1313 and Martina Beckel, Germany, in 6th place with 1306, respectively.

    2009WGWuSiuHong.jpgRounding out the top 10 are Wu Siu Hong (left), Hong Kong (7th, 1295), Ramon Hilferink and Mark Jacobs, both Netherlands, with 1290 and 1286, respectively.

    With another nine squads to go, Cyrus Cheung, Hong Kong holds the 38th and final spot to advance with 1198 (199.67).

    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2010 will be held from Sunday, Feb. 7 through Sunday Feb. 14 at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands. The tournament is the second stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments.

    Once again the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament will be contested on dual lane condition. The left lane is dressed with the 46 feet long pattern (pdf file), the right lane with the 33 feet short pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 51.200 Euro or approximately 70.000 USD. The champion will walk away with the 8.000 Euro top prize.

    2009EBT14OskuPalermaa.jpgThree-time defending European ranking champion Osku Palermaa (right), Finland, is the defending champion.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday Feb. 13 with the final qualifying squad scheduled for 6pm. Qualifying ends with the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30pm. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top six from a separate leaderboard of the squads contested Feb. 7-9 - will advance to the finals on Sunday, Feb. 14. The top 8 qualifiers will receive three byes, while qualifiers 9-16 will earn two byes.

    The players will be divided into eight groups of four players each and will determine the champion in six rounds over two games total pinfall. The top two players from each group will advance to the next round and will be reseeded according to pinfall in the previous round.

    The field will be cut from 48 to 32, 24, 16, 8 and the then four, who will battle it out for the title.


    Related Articles

    Hong Kong's Eric Tseng cracks top 5 in Squad 4 at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel
    Pittens, Breeschoten move to the top in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Dirk Baade takes the early lead in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    Qualifying Standings after Extra Squad 14