Kamilla Kjeldsen takes the early lead in Bowltech Aalborg International 2010


    2010 European Bowling Tour #9

    Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark (May 24-30, 2010)

    2009VOKamillaKjeldsen4.jpg2010EBT02MikStampe.jpg59 Danes and American Ken Bland Jr. took to the 30 lanes at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark, on Monday evening to kick off the Bowltech Aalborg International 2010.

    Two-time European Bowling Tour women's ranking champion and two-time EBT Masters winner Kamilla Kjeldsen (pictured left) rolled games of 223, 215, 279, 224, 243 and 213 for the field-best scratch series of 1397, a 232.83 average, and added 48 pins handicap to take the early lead with 1445.

    European Youth Championships doubles gold medalist Mik Stampe (right) was second with 1378 including high games of 259 and 256, with Stefan Jensen and Morten Olsen in third and fourth place with 1337 each.

    Danish national team members Anja Ginge Jensen and Jimmy Mortensen also cracked the 1300-bar to sit in fifth and sixth place with 1322 and 1321, respectively. Bland, who lives in Norway, chalked up 1164, good for 24th place.

    BowltechAalborgOpenLogo_small.jpgThe Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 will be held from May 18-24 at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark and offers total prize fund of 62.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game. a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour

    The tournament is the 9th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Gold" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2009BWCMartinLarsen3_small.jpg2009WWCKristaPollanen_small.jpgMartin Larsen (left) from Sweden is the defending champion. Larsen topped Tore Torgersen, Norway, 457 to 449 in the 2009 title match over two games total pinfall to claim his fifth EBT title and the 10.000 Euro top prize. Krista Pöllänen (right), Finland, finished in 6th place en route to win the women's ranking.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday, May 29th and concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. on Saturday night.

    A total of 48 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, May 30th - the top 38 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top three players each from a combined standing of Squads 1-3 and 4-6 which are not among the top 38, and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 12 qualifiers will earn two byes while players seeded 13-24 will bypass the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-4 will feature 4-game blocks starting from scratch which will trim the field to 36, 24, 12 and then four who will advance to the semifinals. The No. 1 player of Round 4 bowls the No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3 to determine the finalists who will bowl for the title. The semifinals and the championship match are two-.game matches with the total pinfall determining the winner.

    Immediately following the Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 is the 3rd EBT Masters, the season-ending event of the 2009 European Bowling Tour, which will be held May 31st and June 1st at Lovvang Bowling Center.


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 1/14