Qualifying concludes at USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships


    USBC Collegiate

    Nick Davis, Brittni Hamilton earn top seeds for single-elimination finals


    North Carolina State's Nick Davis (r.) and Vanderbilt's Brittni Hamilton (l.) earned the top seeds Monday for the single-elimination match-play bracket at the 2011 United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Singles Championships.

    Davis fired a 12-game qualifying total of 2,712, an average of 226, while Hamilton led the women's field by a large margin, totaling 2,639, a 219.9 average, at AMF Euless Lanes in Texas.

    USBCISCLogo2.jpgA field of 24 men and 16 women are competing in the Intercollegiate Singles Championships to crown individual college bowling champions. All players advanced to Tuesday's match-play bracket, which will be broadcast live on BOWL.com.

    Davis, who lost in the title match of the 2009 Intercollegiate Singles Championships, pulled away from the men's field down the stretch, closing the day with games of 235, 255 and 230. He leads Wichita State's Geoffrey Young, who is second with 2,629. Aaron Lorincz of Schoolcraft is third with 2,570.

    In the women's division, Hamilton, a Team USA and Junior Team USA member, led the field by nearly 300 pins. Kara Bunting of Central Florida was the closest to Hamilton, settling for second place with 2,356. Calumet College's Alice Veenstra was third with 2,351.

    The top four women's qualifiers earned byes into Round 3 of match play, while the sixth through eighth qualifiers earned first-round byes. In the men's division, the top eight qualifiers earned first-round byes.

    Competition resumes at 7:40 a.m. Central with the opening round of match play. All matches will be best-of-five games.


    Related Articles

    Top collegiate bowlers to battle for titles at 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships
    Field set for 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships


    2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships - Men's Qualifying

    Players with position, University/College and 12-game total

    1, Nick Davis, North Carolina State, 2,712
    2, Geoffrey Young, Wichita State, 2,629
    3, Aaron Lorincz, Schoolcraft, 2,570
    4, Jacob Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois, 2,557
    5, Jayson Foote, Wright State, 2,520
    6, Brian Moore, Saginaw Valley State, 2,507
    7, Kyle Barnes, Middle Tennessee State, 2,453
    8, Matthew Pope, Newman, 2,431
    9, Josh McBride, Wichita State, 2,424
    10, James Miller, William Penn, 2,417
    11, Andy Soukup, Wisconsin- Madison, 2,411
    12, Jeremy Dixson, Saginaw Valley State, 2,389
    13, Joseph Vrobel, Robert Morris-Illinois, 2,353
    14, Mark Allen, Pikeville, 2,351
    15, Mikey Hill, Robert Morris-Illinois, 2,325
    16, Jules Bridges, Florida State, 2,321
    17, Josh Toth, Calumet College, 2,294
    18, Kyle Turner, Kansas, 2,261
    19, Todd Sigeti, RIT, 2,258
    20, Jonathan Deuire, William Paterson, 2,238
    21, Nicholas Sutherland, Davenport, 2,235
    22, Kyle Calcote, Webber International, 2,222
    23, Ted Chojecki, Erie Community College, 2,205
    24, Matthew Anastasia, McKendree, 2,171


    2011 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships - Women's Qualifying

    Players with position, University/College and 12-game total

    1, Brittni Hamilton, Vanderbilt, 2,639
    2, Kara Bunting, Central Florida, 2,356
    3, Alice Veenstra, Calumet College, 2,351
    4, Jenny Petzoldt, Lindenwood, 2,348
    5, Jenn Boisselle, Central Florida, 2,338
    6, Kim Yioulos, Pikeville, 2,324
    7, Kristen Ruzicka, Midland, 2,318
    8, Danielle Locurto, Adelphi, 2,309
    9, Christine Gill, McKendree, 2,284
    10, Maria Jose Rodriguez, Maryland Eastern Shore, 2,274
    11, Kristina Frahm, Maryland Eastern Shore, 2,227
    12, Katelyn Zwiefelhofer, Wisconsin-Whitewater, 2,221
    13, Jillian McBride, Lindenwood, 2,208
    14, Megan Buja, Maryland Eastern Shore, 2,197
    15, Kandis Garland, Northwestern Ohio, 2,152
    16, Nicole Bring, Fresno State, 2,072