Mik Stampe wins his first EBT title in Odense International


    2011 European Bowling Tour #10

    Rikke Holm Agerbo wins her second consecutive women's ranking title

    2011EBT10MikStampe2.jpg2011EBT10PaulStott.jpgDanish national champion Mik Stampe (pictured left) averaged over 220 and won all seven games in match play en route to win his first career European Bowling Tour title in the Odense International Sunday, June 5 at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Stampe, who led the 100-player field from six countries in qualifying and Final Round One, battled it out for the title with Ireland's Paul Stott Jr. (right). Stott overtook the lead in Final Round Two and was the sole non-Danish bowler in the match play finals.

    Stanpe outaveraged the Irishman by more than 20 pins in the finals behind games of 222, 210, 204, 194 and 211 and wrapped up the title with 247 and 258. The Danish national team member totaled 4008 pins including 230 bonus. Stampe, who finished third in the Aalborg International last weekend, received 4.000 Euro for his efforts.

    2011EBT07ThomasLarsen.jpg2009EBT04RikkeHolmRasmussen.jpgStott, who suffered two 170s in the last three games, secured the second place with 3884 including a 4-3 won-lost record worth 2.500 Euro. Thomas Larsen (left) made a run for the title with a 279 in game #4 but had to settle for third place behind three consecutive sub-200 games with 3851.

    Fourth place belonged to Rikke Holm Agerbo (right), who won her second consecutive women's ranking title, Agerbo, who finished second in Aalborg behind Osku Palermaa, was mere 23 pins behind Larsen with 3828.

    Jimmy Mortensen (below left) set the high light when he rolled the tournament's sole 300 game in the fifth game of match play en route to help grab fifth place with 3726. Three-time EBT Masters winner Kamilla Kjeldsen and Pia Burkal landed in sixth and seventh place with 3680 and 3640, respectively.

    2011EBT04JesperAgerbo.jpg2011EBT04JimmyMortensen.jpgRounding out the top 8 was Rikke's husband Jesper Agerbo (right) with 3492.

    2011 EBT Men's Ranking
    2011 EBT Women's Ranking

    The Odense International is a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour, The tournament was the 10th stop of the 2011 Tour and the second out of six EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season.

    The tournament was held from May 29 through June 5, 2011 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark and offered total prize fund of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.500 to the third place finisher.

    Since the Viborg International in Viborg in Denmark has been cancelled, the 2011 European Bowling Tour consists of 21 tour stops in 17 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, seven Silver and six Satellite tournaments.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament such as the Odense International gets 50 ranking points.

    The top 16 men and the top 16 women at the end of the 2011 season qualify for the fifth EBT Masters to be held at Dream-Bowl Palace in Unterföhring near Munich, Germany on April 30 and May 1, 2012. The event will become the first EBT Masters to be contested on single lane condition.

    The qualifying of the Odense International 2011 (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) ran from Sunday May 29 through Saturday, June 4. Women received 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    The Odense International 2011 featured a 38 feet Kegel lane conditioning pattern with 21.87ml oil volume.

    A total of 32 players qualified for the finals on Sunday, June 5 - the top 26 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from a combined standing of Squads 1-3 and 4-6 which are not among the top 26, and one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list. The Turbo 1 and 2 winners were the player with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series who have paid the extra entry fee of 10 Euro per squad/Turbo.

    The top 10 qualifiers received bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 32 finalists bowled six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap advanced to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward. Those 16 bowled another four games to cut to the top 8 who determined the champion in seven games round robin match play with the 10-game total from Round 1 and 2 being carried forward.

    Players received 30 pins bonus for each win in match play and 15 for a tie. In addition, 10 pins bonus were given for each game higher than 239 and 15 bonus pins for each game higher than 269. The player with the highest 17-game total including all bonuses and handicap was declared the winner.


    Related Articles

    Mik Stampe leads top 32 into the finals of the Odense International
    Britt Brøndsted moves into second place in Odense International
    Ireland's Paul Stott shoots into qualifying lead at Odense International
    Squad 6 leaders Klitte, Thorstensen move into second and fourth place at Odense International
    Mik Stampe overtakes the lead in Odense International after Squad 5 of 13
    Rasmus Ussing wins Squad 4 to move into second place at Odense International
    Odense International is underway in Odense, Denmark
    2011 EBT Schedule and Champions


    Final Standings - Top 32 (Cashers)

    2011EBT10Top3.jpg1. Mik Stampe (center), Denmark, 4.000 Euro
    2. Paul Stott Jr., (left), Ireland, 2.500 Euro
    3. Thomas Larsen (right), Denmark, 1.500 Euro
    4. Rikke Holm Agerbo, Denmark, 1.000 Euro
    5. Jimmy Mortensen, Denmark, 900 Euro
    6. Kamilla Kjeldsen, Denmark, 800 Euro
    7. Pia Burkal, Denmark, 700 Euro
    8. Jesper Agerbo, Denmark, 600 Euro
    9. Britt Brøndsted, Denmark, 520 Euro
    10. Søren Åhman, Denmark, 500 Euro
    11. Martin Klitte, Denmark, 480 Euro
    12. Jens Ravn Sørensen, Denmark, 460 Euro
    13. Carsten Warming Hansen, Denmark, 440 Euro
    14. Rasmus Ussing, Denmark, 420 Euro
    15. Heidi Thorstensen, Norway, 400 Euro
    16. Lars Linder, Denmark, 380 Euro
    17. Mathias S. Madsen, Denmark, 350 Euro
    18. Jan Andersen, Denmark, 340 Euro
    19. Timo Schroeder, Germany, 330 Euro
    20. Torben Jørgensen, Denmark, 320 Euro
    21. René Sejling, Denmark, 310 Euro
    22. Anders Lousdal, Denmark, 300 Euro
    23. Kasper S. Walther, Denmark, 290 Euro
    24. Johnni Adsbøl, Denmark, 280 Euro
    25. Tommy Erichsen, Denmark, 270 Euro
    26. John Wozny, Denmark, 260 Euro
    27. Vytautas Gykis, Lithuania, 250 Euro
    28. Kenneth Pedersen, Denmark, 240 Euro
    29. Martin Wozny, Denmark, 230 Euro
    30. Lars Nielsen, Denmark, 220 Euro
    31. Karsten Rothborg, Denmark, 210 Euro
    32. Ken Bland Jr. United States, 200 Euro



    Final Round Three

    Seven games Round Robin Match Play. 30 pins bonus for each win and 15 for a tie. 10 pins bonus for each game higher than 239 and 15 bonus pins for each game higher than 269..



    Final Round Two

    The top 8 advance to Round Robin Match Play.



    Final Round One

    The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap advance to the second round.