Home » Navigation » World » World Cup » Coming soon – 52nd QubicaAMF World Cup in Shanghai

Coming soon – 52nd QubicaAMF World Cup in Shanghai


After a 25-year absence, the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup returns to China when the 52nd edition of the prestigious event will be held from October 14-23 at Hao’s Bowling in Shanghai.

Tournament organizer Anne-Marie Board and the World Cup staff are expecting bowlers from 87 countries to participate in the six-day competition (Oct. 17-22), the biggest event in the sport of tenpin bowling in regard to participating countries.

The following countries have registered:
Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Azores, Bahamas, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Catalonia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Curacao, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wales, and the host country China.

The 40th BWC in Singapore in 2004 still holds the record for the most countries (95) and the most male bowlers (93), while the 46th BWC in Toulon, France, drew the most players (167) including the most women (76).

Last year’s tournament in Las Vegas, USA, drew 156 players, 86 men and 70 women, from 88 countries. The champions were Clara Juliana Guerrero of Colombia and Hong Kong’s Wu Siu Hong.

Guerrero, who won her first title in 2014 in Wroclaw will be in Shanghai to defend her titles trying to become the first player, men or women, to win the World Cup for the third consecutive year and to become the first three-time women’s champion.

Joining Guerrero as multiple World Cup champions on the women’s side are Jeanette Baker, Australia (1982, 83); Pauline Smith, Great Britain (1981, 93); Shannon Pluhowsky, USA (2002, 04); Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic (2010, 11) and Caroline Lagrange, Canada (2009, 13).

Four-time World Cup champion Paeng Nepomuceno, Philippines, who has won record four titles (1976, 1980, 1992 and 1996), Michael Schmidt of Canada (2005, 10) and Arne Svein Strøm of Norway (1977, 1982) are the only multiple men’s champions.

Guerrero, Baker and Guerra are the only players, men and women, who successfully defended a World Cup title. Guerra will also be on hand in Shanghai aim at her third World Cup title.

It marks the second time in the 52-year history that the Bowling World Cup visits China. The 27th edition was held in 1991 in Beijing with 47 countries participating. USA’s Jon Juneau and Asa Larsson of Sweden won the men’s and women’s title in Beijing.

BowlingdigitalPodcastsBowlingdigital.com will provide onsite coverage of the 52nd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup from Shanghai including reports, photos and results after each round. The United States Bowling Congress will provide live streaming on BowlTV.

Onsite coverage and live streaming will commence on Saturday, November 14th with the opening ceremony and concludes on Thursday 19th with the stepladder finals. Men and women will bowl in separate divisions.

2016BWCLogo2All competitors at the 2016 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup will bowl 20 qualifying games over four days before the field is cut to the top 24 for eight additional games. The 28-game pinfall totals will determine the 8 players who advance to eight games round-robin match-play (30 pins for each win, 15 for a tie).

In a change to last year, the top 4 players with highest 36-game total including bonus pins will advance to the stepladder finals.

The finals will be staged on a specially constructed two-lane arena in the Luwan Sports Complex which is also where Hao’s Bowling is located. This will be covered by live streaming on BowlTV and local Chinese live streaming through AliSports.

There will be a one-game knockout match with 1st placed player versus 4th placed player, and 2nd placed player versus 3rd placed player. The winners of each semi-final match will go forward to play the title match.

2016 BWC Schedule at a Glance

  • Friday, Oct. 14, 2016 – Arrival, Acclimatization, Unofficial Practice, Ball Control
  • Saturday, Oct. 15, 2016 – Arrival, Acclimatization, Unofficial Practice, Ball Control, Grand Opening and Welcome Reception
  • Sunday, Oct. 16, 2016 – Ball Control, Official Practice (Men and Women, A & B Squad each)
  • Monday, Oct. 17, 2016 – Qualifying Day 1 (Games 1-5)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2016 – Qualifying Day 2 (Games 6-10)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2016 – Qualifying Day 3 (Games 11-15)
  • Thursday, Oct. 20, 2016 – Qualifying Day 3 (Games 16-20); Cut to Top 24 Men and Women
  • Friday, Oct. 21, 2016 – Round of 24 (Games 21-28); Cut to Top 8 Men and Women
  • Saturday, Oct. 22, 2016 – Round Robin Match Play (Games 29-36); Cut to Top 4 Men and Women; Semifinals and Finals; Presentation of Trophies; Victory Banquet
  • Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016 – Departure

To view the detailed schedule please click here.

Related Articles

QubicaAMF announces official hotel for Shanghai World Cup
Recap – Stats, records and more stuff on the 51st QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup

52nd QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup – Registered Players (as of Oct. 6, 2016)

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.