Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Germany’s Laura Beuthner takes early lead in Polish Open

Germany’s Laura Beuthner takes early lead in Polish Open


Current European Bowling Tour women’s point ranking leader Laura Beuthner of Germany set the pace on the opening qualifying day of the Polish Open presented by Roto Grip Monday at Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland.

The 2015 EBT Masters champion (pictured above) became the first bowler who surpassed the 1400-mark when she led squad 3 with 1402, including 48 pins women’s handicap. She had games of 193, 212, 248, 245, 213 and 243 for 1354 scratch and the field-best 225.67 average to lead a field of 53 bowlers from seven countries.

Christopher Sloan (above left) of Ireland, who led the second squad with 1322 pinfall, finished the day in second place. The two-handed player came out of the gates quickly with a 279 game, the highest game of the tournament so far, and added 199, 246, 148, 226 and 224.

2016EBT11SvenGarbotz.jpg2016EBT11LucyCharezinska.jpgLong-time German national team member Bodo Konieczny (above right) was the only other player who reached the 1300-plateau. Konieczny was second to Beuthner in squad 3 with 1301, including a 264 last game.

His fellow countryman Sven Garbotz (left) missed the 1300-mark by one pin in squad 2 to sit in fourth place with 1299. Lucy Charezińska (right) was the best Polish bowler on day one qualifying in fifth place with 1297, including handicap.

Sandro Brandt (below left) of Germany was further five pins behind in sixth place on 1291 and was followed by squad 1 leader Linas Sasnauskas (below right) of Lithuania, who was the early leader with 1290, including six games between 198 and 234.

2016EBT11SandroBrandt.jpg2016EBT11LinasSasnauskas.jpgAlessandro Silletti (below right) was the best male bowler from Poland in eighth place with 1284. Qualifying continues on Tuesday, July 26, with Squads 4 & 5 scheduled to start at 3 and 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

The Roto Grip Polish Open is the 11th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the last of four EBT “Silver” tournaments this season. The inaugural Polish Open last year was conducted as “satellite” tournament. The second edition will be held from July 25-31 at 24-lane Sky Bowling in Wroclaw, Poland, host of the 2012 and 2014 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cups.

2016EBT11AlessandroSilletti.jpgThe prize fund increased by 10.200 Euro to total 40.200 Euro with 7.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.500 to the runner-up and 3.000 to the third place finisher. Last-to-cash payout (40th place) is 400 Euro.

2015EBT09PolishOpenLogo.jpgQualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) gets underway on Monday, July 25, with Squads 1, 2 and 3 and runs through Saturday, July 30, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 7 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 10 p.m.

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events. Like last year, the 2016 Polish Open presented by Roto Grip features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.435ml oil volume.

Total 40 players will qualify for the finals – the top 30 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top four players from a separate leaderboard of the squads on Tuesday and Wednesday (squads 4-7), who are not among the top 30, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

The Turbo G5 and G6 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth and sixth game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

The top 10 qualifiers earn two byes, while qualifiers 11-20 get a first-round bye. The remaining 20 players advance to the first of two four-game rounds which will trim the field to 30 and then 20 players, who bowl a five-game round to cut to the top 9, who will be split into three groups (Group 1: 1, 6 and 7; Group 2: 2, 5 and 8; Group 3: 3, 4 and 9).

In each group the athletes will bowl two games with the total pinfall to determine the positions. The three group leaders will advance to the finals. The runner-ups will be ranked 4th to 6th according to the seeding after round three, while the second-runner-ups will be ranked 7th to 9th.

The three remaining players will bowl for the title using the same two games total pins format.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Polish Open presented by Roto Grip – Tournament Preview
Carsten Warming Hansen wins his first EBT title in 2015 Roto Grip Polish Open
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women

2016 Polish Open – Qualifying Standings after Squad 3/16

Top 30 players from the qualifying standings, top four players from a separate leaderboard of squads 4-7 who are not among the top 30, one player each from the Turbo Game 5 and Turbo Game 6 standings, and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday’s finals.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.